Regular Session, 2014

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 64

BY REPRESENTATIVES SCHEXNAYDER AND PRICE

A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the lifters and coaches of the Lutcher High School girls' powerlifting team for winning eight consecutive Division II Class 4A state championships from 2007 to 2014.

WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the citizens of Louisiana and the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana recognize and record the significant achievements of the members, past and present, of the Lutcher High School girls' powerlifting team over the past eight seasons, each of which culminated in the Lady Bulldogs winning the Division II Class 4A state championship; and

WHEREAS, the latest installment in the amazing succession of championship seasons occurred on March 21, 2014, when the Lutcher High girls' powerlifting team won eight of eleven weight classes, easily taking the title and proving their dominance by scoring only two fewer overall points than the second-place and third-place teams combined; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commemorate the names of the young women of the Lutcher High School girls' powerlifting championship teams because each of them deserves recognition for her individual contribution to the team's success, which continues to bring tremendous pride, prestige, and honor to the school, the community, and the state; and

WHEREAS, Ellie Becnel, Paige Chauvin, Megan Deslatte, Katie Duhe, Monique Hymel, Brittany Lambert, Ambrea Lee, Tori Mabile, Katie Ocmand, Lauren Roussel, and Amelia Schexnayder are all commended for their determination and dedication to the sport of powerlifting and for winning the 2007 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and

WHEREAS, Ellie Becnel, Kacie Brignac, Ashley Doucet, Ambrea Lee, Aimee Louque, Tori Mabile, Katie Ocmand, Michelle Poche, Rickeyma Ross, Amelia Schexnayder, and Bry'an Storks are all commended for their determination and dedication to the sport of powerlifting and for winning the 2008 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and WHEREAS, Morgan Bleakley, Kacie Brignac, Kari Cockburn, Jessica Gordon, Aimee Louque, Suzanne Louque, Tori Mabile, Katie Ocmand, Rickeyma Ross, and Bry'an Storks are all commended for their determination and dedication to the sport of powerlifting and for winning the 2009 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and

WHEREAS, Chelsie Batiste, Morgan Bleakley, Kari Cockburn, Jaleen Dumas, Kylee Jackson, Aimee Louque, Suzanne Louque, Alexis Nelson, Rickeyma Ross, China Storks, and Emma Waguespack are all commended for their determination and dedication to the sport of powerlifting and for winning the 2010 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and

WHEREAS, Darri'Yonne Anderson, Domonique Bell, Morgan Bleakley, Sara Duhe, Jaleen Dumas, Ariel Jackson, Kylee Jackson, Destiny Kliebert, Suzanne Louque, China Storks, and Destiny Walker are all commended for their determination and dedication to the sport of powerlifting and for winning the 2011 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and

WHEREAS, Gabrielle Clement, Jasmine Davis, Jema Harrilal, Destiny Kliebert, Carli Lambert, Kristin Martin, Brandy Scharwath, Victoria Vicknair, Destiny Walker, and Daquisha Washington are all commended for their determination and dedication to the sport of powerlifting and for winning the 2012 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and

WHEREAS, Gabrielle Clement, Jema Harrilal, Destiny Kliebert, Carli Lambert, Denisha Melancon, Ja'Naija Miller, Jacey Milton, China Storks, Ashley Tucker, Victoria Vicknair, and Destiny Walker are all commended for their determination and dedication to the sport of powerlifting and for winning the 2013 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and

WHEREAS, Jasmine Davis, Carli Lambert, Denisha Melancon, Mallory Millet, Ja'Naija Miller, Jacey Milton, China Storks, Taylor Thomas, Ashley Tucker, Victoria Vicknair, and Destiny Walker are all commended for their determination and dedication to the sport of powerlifting and for winning the 2014 Division II Class 4A girls' championship; and

WHEREAS, over the last eight championship years, the coaches of the Lutcher High School Lady Bulldogs powerlifting team have instilled in their lifters the kind of leadership and motivational skills needed to achieve great success both on and off the powerlifting floor; and WHEREAS, the Lutcher High School girls' powerlifting teams from 2007 to 2014 have crafted a dynasty of champions; they have imparted a commanding sense of honor and immense pride to the school, the town of Lutcher, and the state of Louisiana that will forever be remembered.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the lifters and coaches, past and present, of Lutcher High School and does hereby offer best wishes to the young women who have created a unique legacy of lifting at Lutcher High.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Lutcher High School principal Dr. Daryl J. Scoggin.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES