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This proposed legislation will increase state governmental expenditures by at least $4,419,445 in FY 15 as a result of
additional salary expense and an indeterminable increase of expenditures for the Workforce Commission associated with
enforcement.

Civil Service
Proposed legislation will increase state expenditures by a total of $4,419,445 to fund the additional costs of the new
minimum wage. According to State Civil Service, as of 01/31/2014, there are 1,625 classified employees and 303 when
actually employed (WAE) employees projected to earn less than $10.10 per hour on 01/01/2015. Therefore, to comply with
the requirements of this legislation, additional state expenditures of $3,807,948 for classified employees and one-time
additional state expenditures of $611,507 for WAE employees. In subsequent fiscal years, the 1,625 classified employees
are projected to receive annual 4% performance adjustment on October 1st.  See table below.

                                        FY 15                   FY 16                    FY 17                    FY 18                   FY 19
Classified Employees*      $3,807,948         $3,959,736*        $4,118,125*           $4,282,850*         $4,454,164*
WAE Employees**           $  611,507          $   611,507    $   611,507 $   611,507 $   611,507
Total                              $4,419,445         $4,571,243          $4,729,632            $4,894,357           $5,065,671 

  *Assumes annual 4% performance adjustments 
**One-time increase to bring wages to $10.10 per hour

The above analysis only estimates the impact on classified employees and WAE employees in state agencies, state colleges
and universities, housing authorities, ports, levee boards and independent agencies that are subject to the rules of the State
Civil Service Commission. Unclassified employees are not subject to the rules of the State Civil Service Commission;
therefore unclassified employees are not included in the above analysis. 

Continue on Page 2

Proposed law establishes a state minimum wage at $10.10 per hour beginning 01/01/2015 which is adjusted annually for
inflation in accordance with the Customer Price Index beginning 01/01/2016 by the executive director of the Louisiana
Workforce Commission (LWC). Proposed law requires that the employers of tipped employees make up the difference
between the $2.13 per hour paid to the employee plus tips and the state minimum wage. Proposed law provides a fine of not
less than $500 and not more than $1,000 per employee for failure to pay minimum wage. Proposed law further requires that
an employer who fails to pay his employee minimum wage shall pay the employee the difference between what the employee
was paid, and minimum wage. Proposed law provides that LWC shall enforce the minimum wage laws and impose penalties.
Proposed law excludes student workers employed with the state and with state colleges and universities from the minimum
wage requirement.

This proposed legislation creates fines of $500 to $1,000 per employee for failure to pay a $10.10 per hour minimum wage.
However, the legislation does not specifically indicate how fines are to be deposited and expended. The Legislative Fiscal
Office (LFO) assumes fines will be available to mitigate enforcement cost by the Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC). In
addition, the LFO cannot anticipate the amount of funding that may be collected in fines from employers that fail to comply
with state minimum wages.
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(Continued Expenditure Explanation from Page 1)

Salaries and wages of classified employees and WAE employees are paid with all means of financing (MOF). All MOF may be
affected by the total cost increase resulting from this legislation. Expenditures discussed and displayed above are displayed
as State General Fund MOF for clarity.

Louisiana Workforce Commission
Presently, the State is under the federal minimum wage enforced by the U.S. Department of Labor (US DOL), Wage and Hour
Division through the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). As such, the U.S. Wage and Hour Division handle the majority of wage
and hour complaints. As of January 2014, 21 states and the District of Columbia (DC) have minimum wages above the
federal minimum wage. According to the Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC), in states that have a state minimum wage
law, the US DOL depends on the state to handle the majority of wage and hour complaints.

The proposed legislation requires that the LWC enforce the new state minimum wage under the state’s labor law. According
to LWC, a new division called the Wage and Hour Division will be created to handle wage and hour complaints. LWC indicates
enforcement division may require an assistant, investigator, staff attorney and IT programmer as well as operating costs to
handle additional complaints that would apply to the new state minimum wage. Presently, the LWC collects wage
information from employers through the unemployment insurance (UI) wage web-based portal; however, the UI wage portal
does not collect the hourly rate of pay. Therefore, the existing UI wage portal will have to be reprogrammed to collect the
hourly rate of pay so that LWC can enforce this measure.

The proposed legislation is silent on the intensity or level of enforcement. The LWC has estimated cost associated with three
levels of enforcement options: (1) minimum enforcement; (2) targeted enforcement; and (3) advance enforcement. Under
the minimum enforcement option, the LWC would answer questions and investigate wage and hour complaints. Under the
targeted enforcement option, the LWC would target industries that employ the highest number of minimum wage workers.
Finally, under the advanced enforcement option, the LWC would audit approximately 2% of the 120,000 employers in the
state.  See table below.

                                            FY 15               FY 16               FY 17               FY 18                FY 19
Minimum Enforcement        $   758,267      $   607,460     $  630,858         $  655,193        $  680,500
Targeted Enforcement        $1,224,806      $   983,882     $1,022,337        $1,062,331       $1,103,924
Advance Enforcement         $2,050,456      $1,673,311     $1,739,343        $1,808,017       $1,879,438

Local
The proposed legislation will increase local governmental expenditures by an indeterminable amount.

Public Assistance Programs
To the extent the minimum wage increase results in individuals’ earnings exceeding the means-tested public assistance
threshold, there may be an indeterminable decrease in public assistance enrollment and expenditures. The number of
individuals that would be impacted by the increase is unknown.
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