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Bill Text Version: ORIGINAL
Opp. Chamb. Action:
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Date: April 10, 2014 9:43 AM Author: HUNTER
Dept./Agy.: Civil Service/Labor
Subject: Establishes a State Minimum Wage Same as the Federal Analyst: Patrice Thomas
EMPLOYMENT/WAGES-MINIMUM OR INCREASE GF EX See Note Page 1 of 2

Provides a state minimum wage

Proposed law establishes a state minimum same as the federal minimum wage. Proposed law requires that the employers of
tipped employees make up the difference between the $2.13 per hour plus tips and the state/federal minimum wage.
Proposed law requires that if the federal minimum wage is raised, the state minimum wage shall also be raised. Proposed law
provides that LWC shall enforce the minimum wage laws, promulgate rules and regulations necessary in its implementation,
and impose fines between $500 - $1,000 per employee for failure to pay minimum wage. Proposed law excludes student
workers employed with the state or state colleges and universities.

EXPENDITURES 2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE

Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total

REVENUES 2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

This proposed legislation will increase governmental expenditures by an indeterminable amount for the Workforce
Commission associated with enforcement of this measure.

Civil Service

There is no anticipated direct material effect on State Civil Service as a result of this measure. Presently, all classified pay
scales start at or above the federal minimum wage. Therefore, there are no state employees paid below Federal minimum
wage.

Louisiana Workforce Commission

Presently, the State is under the federal minimum wage enforced by the U.S. Department of Labor (US DOL), Wage and Hour
Division through the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). As such, the U.S. Wage and Hour Division handle the majority of wage
and hour complaints. As of January 2014, 21 states and the District of Columbia (DC) have minimum wages above the
federal minimum wage. According to the Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC), in states that have a state minimum wage
law, the US DOL depends on the state to handle the majority of wage and hour complaints.

The proposed legislation requires that the LWC enforce the new state minimum wage under the state’s labor law. According
to LWC, a new division called the Wage and Hour Division will be created to handle wage and hour complaints. LWC indicates
enforcement division may require an assistant, investigator, staff attorney and IT programmer as well as operating costs to
handle additional complaints that would apply to the new state minimum wage. Presently, the LWC collects wage
information from employers through the unemployment insurance (UI) wage web-based portal; however, the Ul wage portal
does not collect the hourly rate of pay. Therefore, the existing Ul wage portal will have to be reprogrammed to collect the
hourly rate of pay so that LWC can enforce this measure.

Continued on Page 2

REVENUE EXPLANATION

This proposed legislation creates fines of $500 to $1,000 per employee for failure to pay federal minimum wage. However,
the legislation does not specifically indicate how fines are to be deposited and expended. The Legislative Fiscal Office (LFO)
assumes fines will be available to mitigate enforcement cost by the Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC). In addition, the
LFO cannot anticipate the amount of funding that may be collected in fines from employers that fail to comply with state
minimum wages.
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(Continued Expenditure Explanation from Page 1)

The proposed legislation is silent on the intensity or level of enforcement. The LWC has estimated cost associated with three
levels of enforcement options: (1) minimum enforcement; (2) targeted enforcement; and (3) advance enforcement. Under
the minimum enforcement option, the LWC would answer questions and investigate wage and hour complaints. Under the
targeted enforcement option, the LWC would target industries that employ the highest number of minimum wage workers.
Finally, under the advanced enforcement option, the LWC would audit approximately 2% of the 120,000 employers in the
state. See table below.

FY 15 FY 16 FY 17 FY 18 FY 19
Minimum Enforcement $ 735,026 $ 564,502 ¢ 586,182 $ 608,729 $ 632,179
Targeted Enforcement $1,201,565 $ 961,491 ¢ 999,050 $1,038,112 $1,078,737
Advance Enforcement $2,050,456 $1,710,697 $1,778,225 $1,848,454 $1,921,492
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