Allain SR No. 178

Establishes the Task Force on Funding for the Acadiana Criminalistics Laboratory to review existing funding sources and to propose, as necessary, additional funding sources for the maintenance and operation of the laboratory.

Provides that the membership of the task force shall consist of:

- (1) The sheriff of each parish within the Evangeline Law Enforcement Planning District, or the sheriff's chief deputy or chief administrative assistant as designated by the sheriff.
- (2) The district attorney of each parish within the Evangeline Law Enforcement Planning District or the district attorney's first assistant or an assistant district attorney, as designated by the district attorney.
- (3) The president of the governing authority of each parish within the Evangeline Law Enforcement District, or the president's administrative assistant or any other person, designated by the president.
- (4) The chief judge of each judicial district with jurisdiction in least one parish included in the Acadiana Criminalistics Laboratory District, or a district judge designated by the chief judge.
- (5) The judge of the city court of each city court within the Acadiana Criminalistics Laboratory District.
- (6) The state superintendent of the La. State Police, or his designee.
- (7) The director of the Acadiana Criminalistics Laboratory Commission who shall serve as a non-voting member and secretary of the task force.

Provides that the names of designees of task force members be submitted to the task force secretary on or before August 1, 2014, and that the secretary shall call the first meeting of the task force on or before September 1, 2014.

Provides that at the first meeting of the task force, the members shall elect a chairman and other officers deemed necessary, other than secretary, from the task force membership. Provides that the members shall serve without pay or per diem.

Requires that the task force submit a written report of its findings, including any recommendations for legislation, to the Senate on or before February 1, 2015, at which time the task force shall terminate.