James (HB 736) Act No. 192

<u>Prior law</u> established the "La. Commission on HIV, AIDS, and Hepatitis C" and provided for the membership of the commission.

<u>New law</u> changes the composition of the commission to decrease the amount of members <u>from</u> 44 <u>to</u> 36, as follows:

- (1) 23 members shall serve at the governor's pleasure and shall be appointed by the governor as follows:
 - (a) Two persons infected with the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), at least one of whom represents a racial or ethnic subpopulation.
 - (b) Two persons infected with hepatitis C, where one person is co-infected with HIV, and at least one of whom represents a racial or ethnic subpopulation.
 - (c) Two representatives from community-based provider organizations providing services to persons infected with HIV, one of which represents a racial or ethnic subpopulation.
 - (d) Two medically qualified representatives from a medical provider or community-based provider organizations providing services to persons infected with hepatitis C or HIV, one of which represents a racial or ethnic subpopulation.
 - (e) A representative from the La. Primary Care Association.
 - (f) Two representatives from the statewide HIV Community Planning Group.
 - (g) A nurse representative from the La. Nursing Association, who serves patients with HIV or hepatitis C.
 - (h) A social worker representative from the La. Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers.
 - (i) Five Ryan White HIV/AIDS Treatment Modernization Act grantees consisting of at least one Part A grantee, one Part B grantee, one Part C grantee, one Part D grantee, and a representative of the Delta Region AIDS and Education Training Center.
 - (j) A representative from the La. Psychological Association.
 - (k) A representative from the La. Interchurch Conference.
 - (l) A representative from a dental provider serving patients with HIV or hepatitis C.
 - (m) The president of the La. State Medical Society or his designee.
 - (n) The president of the La. Hospital Association or his designee.
- (2) 11 members shall be appointed by the governor by virtue of their position as follows:
 - (a) The state superintendent of education or his designee.
 - (b) The secretary of DPS&C or his designee.
 - (c) Four representatives from DHH, who have knowledge of policies related to HIV, AIDS, and hepatitis C, and who work in the office of public health, office of behavioral health, and the office of health services financing, respectively.
 - (d) The commissioner of the Dept. of Insurance or his designee.

- (e) The deans of the LSU School of Medicine, New Orleans and Shreveport, or their designees who have an affiliation with the Infectious Disease Department.
- (f) The dean of the Tulane University School of Medicine or his designee who has an affiliation with the Infectious Disease Department.
- (g) The dean of one of the Colleges of Pharmacy in La. or his designee who has an affiliation with the HIV/AIDS or hepatitis C practice.
- (3) Two members shall be appointed as follows:
 - (a) A member of the Senate appointed by the president of the Senate.
 - (b) A member of the House of Representatives appointed by the speaker of the House of Representatives.

New law changes the termination date of the commission from Sept. 1, 2014 to Sept. 1, 2017.

Effective Aug. 1, 2014.

(Amends R.S. 40:2018.1(A), (B), and (G))