SLS 15RS-375 **ORIGINAL**

2015 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 15

BY SENATOR THOMPSON

COMMENDATIONS. Commends and congratulates the University of Louisiana at Monroe water ski team for its national championship win at the 26th National Collegiate Water Ski Association Conference.

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend and congratulate the University of Louisiana at Monroe water ski team for its
3	national championship win at the 26th National Collegiate Water Ski Association
4	Conference.
5	WHEREAS, the University of Louisiana at Monroe (ULM) water ski team was
6	originally created in 1977, in Leesville, Louisiana, at the Danny Rowzee's Invitational
7	Collegiate Water Ski Tournament; and
8	WHEREAS, collegiate water skiing athletes compete in three events, including the
9	slalom, trick skiing, and jumping; and
10	WHEREAS, the ULM Water Ski Team has been dominant in the sport since the
11	inception of collegiate water ski competition in 1979, capturing its fourth straight and
12	twenty-sixth national championship titles over the past twenty-eight years; and
13	WHEREAS, in 1983, after winning four consecutive national championships, the
14	ULM student body passed a referendum assessing all full-time students one dollar per
15	semester as part of their activity fee, which provides additional operating, maintenance, and
16	travel cost for the water ski team; and
17	WHEREAS, with generous support from the ULM student body and administration,
18	families, friends, and the entire community, the water ski team is able to attract and recruit

athletes from around the world; and

WHEREAS, the ULM Director of Recreational Services and the ULM Water Ski		
Coach, Treina Landrum, along with Coach Martin Bartalsky, extends sincere gratitude for		
the ever-increasing support by the ULM student body and administrative staff, and to		
business supporters Jay Bennett of Bennett Boat and Ski from Zachary, Louisiana, Aarne		
Clowe with MasterCraft Boats from Vonore, Tennessee, and Dean Blackett of PAC		
Environmental and Construction Services, from Monroe, Louisiana; and		
WHEREAS, the team competes in the National Collegiate Water Ski Association		
South Central Region against other conference schools including University of Louisiana		
at Lafayette, Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College, Texas		
A&M University, the University of Arkansas, Mississippi State University, and Oklahoma		
State University; and		
WHEREAS, the members of the 2014-2015 ULM water ski national championship		
team who are to be commended for their athletic excellence include Eleanor Benjamin of		
London, England; Manon Costard of Marseille, France; Emilia Hoikkanen of Helsinki,		
Finland; Sasha Danisheuskaya of Minsk, Belarus; Maddison McCammon of Kelowna,		
Canada; Laura Rader of Villach, Austria; Mara Salmina of Poetscach, Austria; Janice		
Stevens of Morrisburg, Ontario, Canada; Jake Bridges of Dublin, Ireland; James Earl of		
Solihul, England; Taylor Horton of Moorpark, California; Martin Kolman of Prague, Czech		
Republic; Adam Pickos of Santa Rosa Beach, Florida; and Michael Stevenson of Gilbert,		
Arizona.		
THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana		
does hereby commend and congratulate the University of Louisiana at Monroe water ski		
team on its national championship win at the 26th National Collegiate Water Ski Association		
Conference.		
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the		

University of Louisiana at Monroe water ski team.

SLS 15RS-375

ORIGINAL
SR NO. 15

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Michelle Broussard-Johnson.

DIGEST 2015 Regular Session

SR 15 Original

Thompson

Commends and congratulates the University of Louisiana water ski team for its national championship win at the 26th National Collegiate Water Ski Association Conference.