### SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 15

## BY SENATORS THOMPSON, ADLEY, ALLAIN, AMEDEE, APPEL, BROOME, BUFFINGTON, CROWE, DONAHUE, GALLOT, GUILLORY, JOHNS, KOSTELKA, MARTINY, MILLS, MORRELL, MURRAY, PEACOCK, PERRY, RISER, GARY SMITH, TARVER, WALSWORTH, WARD AND WHITE

#### A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the University of Louisiana at Monroe water ski team for its fourth straight win on October 18, 2014, resulting in a total to date of twenty-six national championship titles won at the National Collegiate Water Ski Association competition.

WHEREAS, the University of Louisiana at Monroe (ULM) water ski team was originally created in 1977, in Leesville, Louisiana, at the Danny Rowzee's Invitational Collegiate Water Ski Tournament; and

WHEREAS, collegiate water skiing athletes compete in three events, including the slalom, trick skiing, and jumping; and

WHEREAS, the ULM water ski team has been dominant in the sport since the inception of collegiate water ski competition in 1979, capturing twenty-six out of the past thirty-six national championship titles; and

WHEREAS, in 1983, after winning four consecutive national championships, the ULM student body passed a referendum assessing all full-time students one dollar per semester as part of their activity fee, which provides additional operating, maintenance, and travel cost for the water ski team; and

WHEREAS, with generous support from the ULM student body and administration, families, friends, and the entire community, the water ski team is able to attract and recruit athletes from around the world; and

WHEREAS, the ULM Director of Recreational Services and the ULM Water Ski Coach, Treina Landrum, along with Coach Martin Bartalsky, extends sincere gratitude for the ever-increasing support by the ULM student body and administrative staff, and to

## SR NO. 15

business supporters Jay Bennett of Bennett Boat and Ski from Zachary, Louisiana, Aarne Clowe with MasterCraft Boats from Vonore, Tennessee, and Dean Blackett of PAC Environmental and Construction Services, from Monroe, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the team competes in the National Collegiate Water Ski Association South Central Region against other conference schools, including University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College, Texas A&M University, the University of Arkansas, Mississippi State University, and Oklahoma State University; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 2014-2015 ULM water ski national championship team who are hereby commended for their athletic excellence include Eleanor Benjamin of London, England; Manon Costard of Marseille, France; Emilia Hoikkanen of Helsinki, Finland; Sasha Danisheuskaya of Minsk, Belarus; Maddison McCammon of Kelowna, Canada; Laura Rader of Villach, Austria; Mara Salmina of Poetscach, Austria; Janice Stevens of Morrisburg, Ontario, Canada; Jake Bridges of Dublin, Ireland; James Earl of Solihul, England; Taylor Horton of Moorpark, California; Martin Kolman of Prague, Czech Republic; Adam Pickos of Santa Rosa Beach, Florida; and Michael Stevenson of Gilbert, Arizona.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the University of Louisiana at Monroe water ski team on its fourth straight win on October 18, 2014, resulting in a total to date of twenty-six national championship titles won at the National Collegiate Water Ski Association competition.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the University of Louisiana at Monroe water ski team.

# PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE