BY SENATOR JOHNS

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the 2015 Division III St. Louis Catholic State Championship Soccer Team on its fifth state championship in six years.

WHEREAS, top-seeded St. Louis Catholic Saints notched its eleventh overall state championship and the fifth state championship in the last six years by knocking off No. 3 Northlake Christian Wolverines in the Division III LHSAA Boys State Soccer Championship presented by NOLA Media Group at Tad Gormley Stadium; and

WHEREAS, the match was tied at one going into penalty kicks, and St. Louis keeper Conner Cutrera, a junior who was named the match's Most Outstanding Player, gave a herculean performance in the penalty kick session notching three saves in a row after giving up the first penalty kick to Northlake, his third save sending the St. Louis players rushing the field to mob their teammate in the Division III championship game; and

WHEREAS, after the Wolverines controlled possession for the opening fifteen minutes, St. Louis started to assert itself and controlled for the remainder of the first half, notching three shots on goal in the half, and Northlake Christian had its opportunities with four corner kicks and three shots of its own; and

WHEREAS, Nick Cironi put St. Louis on the board in the first twenty-two minutes on a breakaway and blasted the ball past Northlake Christian for the 1-0 lead, the shot coincidentally being the Saints' first shot on goal of the match; and

WHEREAS, Northlake Christian and St. Louis put relentless pressure on each other's opposing keepers throughout the second half, combining for nine shots on goal, but the Wolverines barely missed putting a point on the board with a rocket shot from forty yards out when the ball rolled inches past the goal post out of bounds; and

WHEREAS, the Wolverines finally cashed in on one of its opportunities to tie the score at one when the referees called the Saints for a foul in the box; and

SCR NO. 23 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, both teams had chances in the overtime periods, but the Saints outshot

the Wolverines 4-2; the win was a bit of sweet redemption for St. Louis (21-3-4) as the

Saints lost in the semifinals a year ago in penalty kicks to Lusher High School who went on

to win the championship title for 2014; and

WHEREAS, the Saints posted a record of twenty-one wins, three losses, and four

ties, led by Athletic Director and Head Coach Jason Oertling and assistant coaches Toby

Landry, Luke Pousson, Irvin Clark, Paul Burgess, and Maria Lapira, and captured the state

championship for the eleventh time in program history; and

WHEREAS, the team also included players Michael Mack, Nick Cironi, Joe Manuel,

Carter Sutton, Zack Eisner, Michael Buisson, Strack Brown, Brandon Amiot, Mac

Thompson, Conner Cutrera, Ben Jester, Matthew McNamara, John Henry Ammons,

Matthew Ieyoub, Daltin Babineaux, Hunter Dore', George Villaume, Alex Ieyoub, Jack

Clement, Nic Migues, Luke Ieyoub, Evan Dore', Brian Queenan, Andrew Alley, Bryce

Rachal, Christian Ertell, Hunter Guillory, Alexander Stroh, Ryan Monk, Charles Vanchiere,

Luke Burnham, Tyler Hoover, Brian Snider, Joseph Tassin, Noah LeJeune, Rafael Zapata,

and Matthew Gatson; managers Kirby Oertling and T-Beau Faul; and medical staff Dr. Ben

Williams.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby

commend and congratulate the St. Louis Catholic High School boys soccer team upon

winning its fifth state championship in six years and the eleventh in the program's history.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to

Athletic Director and Head Coach Jason Oertling.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Page 2 of 2