SLS 16RS-2903 ORIGINAL

2016 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 123

BY SENATOR HEWITT

1

WATER/WATERWAYS. Re-creates the Lower Pearl River Basin Ecosystem Study Commission.

A RESOLUTION

2	To re-create the Lower Pearl River Basin Ecosystem Study Commission.
3	WHEREAS, the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana created the Lower Pearl River
4	Basin Ecosystem Study Commission pursuant to Senate Resolution No. 159 of the 2014
5	Regular Session of the Legislature (SR No. 159) and re-created the commission pursuant to
6	Senate Resolution No. 152 of the 2015 Regular Session of the Legislature; and
7	WHEREAS, the Senate finds that the commission needs additional time to complete
8	these studies before it can develop final recommendations regarding the study and report the
9	information required by SR No. 159.
10	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana
11	does hereby re-create the Lower Pearl River Basin Ecosystem Study Commission.
12	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the commission shall be re-created with the
13	same membership, duties, powers, and limitation on compensation as stated in SR No. 159.
14	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the commission shall report to the legislature
15	no later than April 30, 2017.
16	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the commission shall terminate on April 30,
17	2017.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Jerry J. Guillot.

## DIGEST 2016 Regular Session

Hewitt

<u>Prior resolution</u> (SR 159 of 2014 RS) created the Lower Pearl River Basin Ecosystem Study Commission to study and make recommendations to the legislature and federal agencies on the development of a long-term comprehensive master plan to protect and preserve the Lower Pearl River Basin ecosystem.

Provided for the following commission membership of 16 members:

SR 123 Original

- (1) Two senators appointed by the president, or their designees, one of whom shall serve as chairperson.
- (2) Two members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the speaker or their designees.
- (3) The secretary of the Department of Natural Resources, or his designee.
- (4) The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, or his designee.
- (5) The secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality, or her designee.
- (6) The president of Washington Parish, or his designee.
- (7) The president of St. Tammany Parish, or his designee.
- (8) Four residents of St. Tammany Parish, appointed by the legislators representing that parish.
- (9) Three residents of Washington Parish, appointed by the legislators representing that parish.

Provided that the study should focus on the area of protection, the creation of an authority to manage the protection area, financing for the authority, long-term projects for the preservation and maintenance of the protection area, and any future needs of the protection area.

Provided that the members of the commission shall serve without compensation, except per diem or expenses reimbursement to which they may be individually entitled as members of their respective constituent organization.

Provided that the commission may conduct such meetings at such times as it may deem necessary or convenient to enable it to exercise fully and effectively its powers, perform its duties, and accomplish the objectives and purposes of the Resolution.

<u>Prior resolution</u> (SR 152 of 2015 RS) re-created the commission with the same membership, duties, powers, and limitation on compensation as stated in SR No. 159 and required a report to the legislature no later than 60 days prior to the 2016 RS.

<u>Proposed resolution</u> re-creates the commission with the same membership, duties, powers, and limitation on compensation as stated in SR No. 159, requires a report to the legislature no later than April 30, 2017, and provides that the commission shall terminate on April 30, 2017.