SLS 16RS-3671 **ORIGINAL**

2016 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 168

BY SENATOR ALARIO

1

COMMENDATIONS. Commends Lieutenant Douglas Foreman of the Lafourche Parish Sheriff's Office on winning the 2016 Deputy Sheriff of the Year Award.

A RESOLUTION

2	To commend Lieutenant Douglas Foreman of the Lafourche Parish Sheriff's Office on being
3	the recipient of the 2016 Deputy Sheriff of the Year Award presented by the
4	Louisiana Sheriffs' Association.
5	WHEREAS, the Louisiana Sheriffs' Association presents the Deputy Sheriff of the
6	Year Award to recognize a deputy sheriff who has shown unusual initiative and imagination
7	in the performance of their duty, and recognizes activities that improve the quality of life in
8	their community; and
9	WHEREAS, Douglas Foreman began volunteering as a reserve deputy with the
10	Lafourche Parish Sheriff's Office in 1985, and three years later, began working full-time; and
11	WHEREAS, during his tenure, he has served in various capacities and has held
12	positions in the patrol division and investigations division where, due to his outstanding
13	work ethic, he was promoted to sergeant in both divisions and lieutenant and deputy
14	commander of the patrol division; and
15	WHEREAS, Douglas Foreman has also served as Special Administrative Assistant
16	to the Sheriff and has represented the sheriff's office proudly as a member of the Honor
17	Guard and Agency Recruitment Team and has participated as a member of the Policy Unity
18	Tour honoring fallen officers; and

1 WHEREAS, he annually participates in the "Lafourche leg" of the Law Enforcement 2 Torch Run for Special Olympics; and 3 WHEREAS, Lieutenant Foreman is serving as supervisor of the Traffic Enforcement 4 Section which includes motorcycle patrol, bicycle patrol, and school traffic guards and, since 5 2013, has been actively promoting proper child restraint and seat belt usage by conducting 6 weekly safety checkpoints and has coordinated extra patrols and DWI checkpoints to target 7 impaired drivers; and 8 WHEREAS, Lieutenant Foreman has been referred to as the quintessential public 9 servant, a deputy who strives for excellence and professionalism in his work and expects the 10 same from those he supervises, a deputy who always looks for ways to make things easier 11 on his fellow deputies, often taking on additional responsibilities and workload, and, whether 12 he is ministering to inmates at the parish jail or encouraging other deputies in their work or 13 physical fitness, a deputy who is always looking to lift the spirits of those around him; and 14 WHEREAS, Lieutenant Douglas Foreman, throughout his law enforcement career 15 has gone above and beyond in service to the public and has received numerous honors, 16 including the Lafourche Parish Sheriff's Office highest honor - the Sheriff Star in 2015; and WHEREAS, Lieutenant Douglas Foreman merits the highest commendation and 17 18 sincere congratulations for his exemplary public service and for his outstanding 19 contributions to the state of Louisiana and its citizens. 20 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana 21 does hereby commend and congratulate Lieutenant Douglas Foreman of the Lafourche Parish Sheriff's Office on being the recipient of the 2016 Deputy Sheriff of the Year Award 22 23 from the Louisiana Sheriffs' Association; does hereby recognize and record for posterity his 24 tireless dedication and service to the citizens of Lafourche Parish and the state of Louisiana; 25 and does hereby extend to him best wishes for continued success and happiness in all of his future endeavors. 26 27 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Lieutenant Douglas Foreman. 28

SLS 16RS-3671 ORIGINAL SR NO. 168

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Jerry J. Guillot.

DIGEST 2016 Regular Session

SR 168 Original

Alario

Commends Lt. Douglas Foreman of the Lafourche Parish Sheriff's Office on being the recipient of the 2016 Deputy Sheriff of the Year Award presented by the La. Sheriffs' Association.