BY SENATOR THOMPSON

## A RESOLUTION

To designate April 27, 2017, as FFA Day at the Louisiana State Capitol and to commend the state officers of the Louisiana FFA Association.

WHEREAS, the national Future Farmers of America (FFA) organization prepares and trains students for leadership and professions in the science, business, and technology of agriculture in public schools throughout our nation; and

WHEREAS, the mission of the FFA organization is to make a positive difference in the lives of young people by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education; and

WHEREAS, the motto of the FFA organization, "Learning to Do, Doing to Learn, Earning to Live, Living to Serve", gives members words to live by as they experience the opportunities of the organization; and

WHEREAS, the national FFA organization consists of more than six hundred thousand members in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana membership of the FFA organization continues to be strongly represented by agricultural students in approximately one hundred ninety-five chapters throughout the state with over ten thousand members; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Louisiana Senate recognize the importance of agriculture to the economy of this state, as well as the importance of the education and training students receive through agricultural education programs that develop competent and assertive agricultural leadership.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby designate April 27, 2017, as FFA Day at the Louisiana State Capitol.

SR NO. 18 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana also recognizes and commends the 2016-2017 state FFA officers as follows: Gabe Patterson, president; Bryce Franklin, vice president; Bayli Quick, vice president; Gabrielle Gobert, vice president; Charlotte Streat, vice president; Layni LeBlanc, secretary; Ashlee Sebren, treasurer; Holly Kay, reporter; Zac Little, sentinel; and Benjamin Hoover, parliamentarian.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Gabe Patterson, state president of the Louisiana FFA Association.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE