HLS 17RS-1433 ORIGINAL

2017 Regular Session

1

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 41

BY REPRESENTATIVE GARY CARTER

SPECIAL DAY/WEEK/MONTH: Commends several Tulane University students upon winning NASA's BIG Idea Challenge competition

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

2	To commend Tulane University students John Robertson, Otto Lyon, Benjamin Lewson,
3	Matthew Gorban, Ethan Gasta, Maxwell Woody, and Afsheen Sajjadi upon their
4	selection as winners of NASA's 2017 BIG Idea Challenge competition.
5	WHEREAS, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) is widely
6	regarded as the finest space exploration organization in the world and has an exceptional
7	reputation; and
8	WHEREAS, NASA hosts the BIG Idea Challenge, which is intended to produce
9	designs of crucial importance to manned spaceflight; and
10	WHEREAS, twenty-nine teams from top national universities submitted designs to
11	the BIG Idea Challenge competition; and
12	WHEREAS, the group of students representing Tulane designed a revolutionary solar
13	electric propulsion cargo transport spacecraft, called "The Sunflower", and submitted their
14	design to the BIG Idea Challenge competition in November of 2016; and
15	WHEREAS, in December of 2016, the students were selected to be among five
16	finalist teams and were invited to present their design before a panel of distinguished judges
17	at NASA's Langley research facility in Hampton, Virginia; and
18	WHEREAS, the judges selected the Tulane team and their design as the winner of
19	the BIG Idea Challenge competition; and

1 WHEREAS, as a result of their victory, five paid NASA summer internships have 2 been awarded to team members, which will allow the students to work in NASA facilities 3 across the country; and 4 WHEREAS, the team intends to continue to develop the Sunflower design and will 5 present its research on the design at the American Institute of Aerospace and Aeronautics 6 conference and submit articles to peer-reviewed aerospace engineering journals; and 7 WHEREAS, through their victory in the BIG Idea Challenge competition, these 8 students have established a Tulane University and Louisiana presence at NASA that will 9 benefit the institution and the state for years to come. 10 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby 11 commend John Robertson, Otto Lyon, Benjamin Lewson, Matthew Gorban, Ethan Gasta, 12 Maxwell Woody, and Afsheen Sajjadi upon their selection as winners of NASA's BIG Idea 13 Challenge competition and their subsequent internship awards; does hereby recognize and 14 record for posterity their extraordinary contributions to spaceflight, the National Aeronautics 15 and Space Administration, Tulane University, and the state of Louisiana; and does hereby 16 wish them every measure of continued success and happiness in their future endeavors. 17 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted 18 to John Robertson, Otto Lyon, Benjamin Lewson, Matthew Gorban, Ethan Gasta, Maxwell 19 Woody, and Afsheen Sajjadi.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HCR 41 Original

2017 Regular Session

Gary Carter

Commends Tulane University students John Robertson, Otto Lyon, Benjamin Lewson, Matthew Gorban, Ethan Gasta, Maxwell Woody, and Afsheen Sajjadi upon their selection as winners of NASA's 2017 BIG Idea Challenge competition.