## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 78

BY SENATORS LONG, ALARIO, ALLAIN, APPEL, BARROW, BISHOP, BOUDREAUX, CARTER, CHABERT, CLAITOR, COLOMB, CORTEZ, DONAHUE, ERDEY, FANNIN, GATTI, HEWITT, JOHNS, LAFLEUR, LAMBERT, LUNEAU, MARTINY, MILKOVICH, MILLS, MIZELL, MORRELL, MORRISH, PEACOCK, PERRY, PETERSON, RISER, GARY SMITH, JOHN SMITH, TARVER, THOMPSON, WALSWORTH, WARD AND WHITE AND REPRESENTATIVES ABRAHAM, ABRAMSON, AMEDEE, ANDERS, ARMES, BACALA, BAGLEY, BAGNERIS, BARRAS, BERTHELOT, BILLIOT, BISHOP, BOUIE, BROADWATER, CHAD BROWN, TERRY BROWN, CARMODY, CARPENTER, GARY CARTER, ROBBY CARTER, STEVE CARTER, CHANEY, CONNICK, COUSSAN, COX, CREWS, CROMER, DANAHAY, DAVIS, DEVILLIER, DWIGHT, EDMONDS, EMERSON, FALCONER, FOIL, FRANKLIN, GAINES, GAROFALO, GISCLAIR, GLOVER, GUINN, HALL, JIMMY HARRIS, LANCE HARRIS, HAVARD, HAZEL, HENRY, HENSGENS, HILFERTY, HILL, HODGES, HOFFMANN, HOLLIS, HORTON, HOWARD, HUNTER, HUVAL, IVEY, JACKSON, JAMES, JEFFERSON, JENKINS, JOHNSON, JONES, JORDAN, NANCY LANDRY, TERRY LANDRY, LEBAS, LEGER, LEOPOLD, LYONS, MACK, MAGEE, MARCELLE, MARINO, MCFARLAND, MIGUEZ, DUSTIN MILLER, GREGORY MILLER, MORENO, JAY MORRIS, JIM MORRIS, NORTON, PEARSON, PIERRE, POPE, PRICE, PUGH, PYLANT, REYNOLDS, RICHARD, SCHEXNAYDER, SCHRODER, SEABAUGH, SHADOIN, SIMON, SMITH, STAGNI, STEFANSKI, STOKES, TALBOT, THIBAUT, THOMAS, WHITE AND ZERINGUE

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend James C. "Jim" Beam upon his induction into the Louisiana Political Museum

and Hall of Fame.

WHEREAS, it is altogether fitting and proper to congratulate Jim Beam for this

honor; and

WHEREAS, Jim has been an integral part of the Louisiana political and journalism

worlds for over five decades; and

WHEREAS, James C. "Jim" Beam was born in Cameron, Louisiana, on October 7,

1933, and is a lifelong resident of Lake Charles, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, Jim graduated from LaGrange High School in 1951 and earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from McNeese State University in 1955 and a Master of Arts in American History from Louisiana State University in 1962; and

WHEREAS, after undergrad, Jim served his country in the United States Army from 1955 to 1957 before returning home to teach in the Calcasieu Parish school system from 1958 to 1961; and WHEREAS, Jim's journalism career began at the Lake Charles American Press as a reporter in 1961, city editor in 1965, co-editor in 1982, and editor in 1992; and

WHEREAS, Jim began covering the Louisiana Legislature in 1968 during Governor McKeithen's second term and has covered the legislature ever since; and

WHEREAS, Jim has won numerous awards for his writing from the Louisiana Press Association, the Louisiana-Mississippi Associated Press, the Louisiana Medical Society, and others throughout the decades; and

WHEREAS, in addition to political columns, Jim has also published several collections of work, including "Positively Beaming" and "A Matter of Trust"; and

WHEREAS, Jim has deservingly received accolades and recognitions throughout his distinguished career such as being chosen in 2000 to be the first "Lake Area Legend" by the Advertising and Press Club and receiving the Hector San Miguel Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement in Journalism in 2010; and

WHEREAS, Jim retired from the Lake Charles American Press as editor in 1999, but his passion for Louisiana politics remains strong and he continues to cover the Louisiana Legislature and write regular editorials at age 83; and

WHEREAS, James "Jim" Beam brings pride to the Southwest Louisiana region as the first and only journalist from Southwest Louisiana to be inducted into the Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, Jim Beam's fifty-six years of commitment to accurate reporting and professionalism are admired and respected by many and Louisiana is grateful for his work and proud to induct him into the Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend James C. "Jim" Beam upon his induction into the Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to James C. Beam.

## PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

## SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES