HLS 17RS-1085

2017 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 109

BY REPRESENTATIVE ABRAHAM

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the St. Louis Catholic High School boys' soccer team for winning the LHSAA Division III state championship

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend the St. Louis Catholic boys' soccer team and head coach Jason Oertling upon
3	winning its third consecutive Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA)
4	Division III state championship.
5	WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend the St. Louis Catholic boys' soccer team
6	upon winning its third consecutive LHSAA Division III state championship; and
7	WHEREAS, the Saints of the St. Louis Catholic boys' soccer team have completed
8	a sensational season, earning the title of LHSAA Division III state champions after defeating
9	the Episcopal High School Knights, by a score of 2-1 after dominating the second half of the
10	championship game Wednesday, February 22, 2017, at Tad Gormley Stadium; and
11	WHEREAS, this thrilling victory marks the thirteenth title in the school's history and
12	gives the Saints the state record for the most champions; and
13	WHEREAS, the athletes of St. Louis Catholic High School performed at the highest
14	level of excellence throughout the 2016 season and the playoffs, and each of these talented
15	Saints deserves recognition for his vital contributions to the winning effort: seniors John
16	Henry Ammons, Luke Benoit, Luke Burnham, Zac Eisner, T-Beau Faul, Luke Gaskin, Alex
17	Ieyoub, Matthew Ieyoub, and George Villaume; juniors William Aguillard, Jack Clement,
18	Evan Dore', Eli Gaughan, Hunter Guillory, Tyler Hoover, Luke Ieyoub, Nic Migues, Ryan
19	Monk, Brian Snider, Joseph Tassin, and Conner Williams; sophomores Michael Aleshire,
20	Sam Broussard, Matthew Dufrene, Dawson Goodfriend, Andrew Kilpatrick, Luke
21	Schwartzenburg, Lane Stine, and Christopher Zareck; and freshmen Matthew Burnham,

HLS 17RS-1085

5 WHEREAS, the team's amazing feats could not have been achieved without the 6 unwavering dedication and inspiring guidance of head coach Jason Oertling; the Saints 7 coaching staff, Irvin Clark, Ben Jester, Toby Landry, Melissa Minton, Rachel Muth, and 8 Luke Pousson; team manager Kirby Oertling; and medical staff, Dr. Brett Cascio, Dr. Ben 9 Williams, and Roderick Joseph; as well as the passion of the many Saints supporters who 10 contribute to the success of the school's soccer program; and

WHEREAS, the team's outstanding 2016 season upholds the glorious tradition of the
Saints, and all alumni and fans recognize the tremendous honor, pride, and joy that the team
brings to St. Louis Catholic High School, Lake Charles, and the state of Louisiana.

14 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the 15 Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the St. Louis Catholic High School boys' 16 soccer team and head coach Jason Oertling upon winning a third consecutive Louisiana High 17 School Athletic Association Division III state championship; does hereby record for 18 posterity this exceptional team's triumph in the great sport of soccer; and does hereby extend 19 best wishes to the players, coaches, and everyone involved with this fine soccer program as 20 they celebrate their championship season and prepare for continued success in the future. 21 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted

to head coach Jason Oertling.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HR 109 Original

2017 Regular Session

Abraham

Commends the St. Louis Catholic High School boys' soccer team and head coach Jason Oertling upon winning a third consecutive LHSAA Division III state championship.