2017 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 91

BY REPRESENTATIVES BISHOP, COUSSAN, AND NANCY LANDRY AND SENATOR CORTEZ

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the Ascension Episcopal School on winning the 2017 Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA Baseball State Tournament-Division IV.

WHEREAS, the Ascension Episcopal School Blue Gators baseball team capped a stellar overall 26-8 season by winning its first ever state championship at the 2017 Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA State Baseball Championship-Division IV by defeating Central Catholic Morgan City by a score of 7-3 for the Blue Gators' first time ever beating the Central Catholic Morgan City Eagles; and

WHEREAS, the path to the championship game went through a regional championship over Hanson Memorial of Franklin by a score of 8-5, a quarterfinal shutout win of 6-0 over Covenant Christian Academy of Houma, and a semifinal 3-0 shutout over Houma Christian; and

WHEREAS, sophomore Carter Dooley was the starting pitcher for the championship game, marking his first playoff appearance, where, after scattering five hits and two walks through seven innings and salvaging a seventh inning bases-loaded jam to keep Central Catholic scoreless for the inning, he ended up pitching all seven innings of the game limiting the Eagles to only three runs; and

WHEREAS, pitcher Dooley was not the only Blue Gator standout in the championship game with senior Jeffrey Elkins named Most Valuable Player of the game for his three runs and one triple along with RBIs from sophomore Sean-Michael Brady who had an earned run average for the playoffs of 0.656, senior Brennan Lightfoot, and junior Eli Mouton; and

HCR NO. 91 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, in addition to Jeffrey Elkins, Sean-Michael Brady, and Carter Dooley, the members of the winning team include seniors Will Fox, Josh Hebert, and Brennan Lightfoot; juniors Luke Foreman, Andrew Hebert, Jack Leoni, Eli Mouton, and Garrett Schoeffler; sophomores Austin Arceneaux, Seth Kerstetter, Andrew Lotief, Mike Rohrberger, and Michael Schaub; freshmen Brodi Delahoussaye, JP Foco, Lance Fontenot, Quaid Fosheee, Christian Matherne, Blake Pearson; and eighth graders Wyatt Fox, Will Kerstetter, and Cole Simon; and

WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest levels of excellence throughout the season, and each Blue Gator deserves recognition for his vital contribution to the winning effort; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Lonny Landry and Assistant Coaches Tim Comeaux, Jay Domengeaux, and Scott McCullough have instilled an ethic of winning in these young athletes, and have demonstrated leadership and motivational skills that have led to success both on and off the diamond for the Ascension Episcopal School Blue Gators; and

WHEREAS, Statistician Will Frentz, Athletic Director Eric Mouton, Head of Upper School Chris Dardar, and Head Master Paul Quick contributed to the success of the team by capably and admirably supporting the team throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize the well-deserved title the Blue Gators have earned; to commend the team for the ability they have displayed, particularly at the most difficult level of competition; and to express sincere and heartfelt congratulations to the team members, coaching staff, and support staff for the merits earned and the sportsmanship shown while achieving the highest state Division IV baseball honor possible for Ascension Episcopal School.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Ascension Episcopal School Blue Gators for winning the 2017 Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA Baseball State Tournament-Division IV.

HCR NO. 91 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Lonny Landry at Ascension Episcopal School.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE