SLS 17RS-2912 **ORIGINAL**

2017 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 177

BY SENATOR LAFLEUR

COMMENDATIONS. Commends the LSU Eunice Lady Bengals Softball team on winning the 2017 NJCAA Division II national championship.

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend and congratulate the Louisiana State University Eunice Lady Bengals softball
3	team upon winning the 2017 National Junior College Athletic Association Division
4	II national championship.
5	WHEREAS, the LSU Eunice Lady Bengals softball team won their fifth national
6	championship in seven years with a dramatic 8-7 win over top-ranked Jones County Junior
7	College on May 20th at Traceway Park in Clinton, Mississippi; and
8	WHEREAS, LSU Eunice used a walk-off squeeze bunt by Haley Godeaux to score
9	Emily Henderson, after Jordan Bishop singled to open the inning and pinch runner Abby
10	Trahan tied the game when she scored on a wild pitch, to win the 2017 NJCAA Division II
11	Softball championship; and
12	WHEREAS, Hannah Vidallier earned the win pitching three innings, giving up one
13	run, two hits, and walking one; Rebecca Skains was named Most Valuable Player and
14	Offensive Player of the tournament as she hit two home runs and drove in three runs in the
15	title game; and Abigail Leonards garnered Most Outstanding Pitcher of the tournament; and
16	WHEREAS, the Lady Bengals completed its championship season posting a record
17	of 53 wins and 11 losses, a .828 winning percentage; and
18	WHEREAS, the Lady Bengal players, Jeannemarie Angelle, Jordan Bishop,

SLS 17RS-2912 ORIGINAL SR NO. 177

Alexandra Cifreo, Darian Doucet, Mima Doucet, Elizabeth Fontenot, Sierra Gasca, Haley 1 Godeaux, Mary Guillory, Emily Henderson, Ally Howard, Savannah Lejeune, Abigail 2 3 Leonards, Alexa Lonibos, Maleah Saucedo, Rebecca Skains, Bobbi Smith, Abby Trahan, 4 Hannah Vidallier, Lakyn Wales, and Molly Wilson, were ably guided by Head Coach Andy 5 Lee and Assistant Coach Logan Hebert; and 6 WHEREAS, hard work and dedication led the team to another spectacular season and 7 national championship, having previously secured the title in 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2016, 8 as the Lady Bengals hit 83 home runs, scored 523 runs, and posted a team batting average 9 of .365, an on-base percentage of .440, and a slugging percentage of .611; and 10 WHEREAS, the team performed at the highest levels of excellence throughout the 11 season, and each Lady Bengal deserves recognition for her hard work and vital contributions 12 to the winning effort, along with solid coaching, commitment from parents, and the backing 13 of the college and community; and 14 WHEREAS, the players and staff of the Lady Bengals have made their university, 15 community, and state proud because of their competitiveness, motivation, and dedication to 16 the sport they love. THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana 17 18 does hereby commend and congratulate the athletes and coaching staff of the LSU Eunice 19 softball team for winning the 2017 National Junior College Athletic Association Division 20 II championship; does hereby recognize the team's outstanding performance and the pride 21 and honor they have brought to the university, community, and state; and does hereby extend best wishes to the athletes, coaches, and everyone involved with this fine softball program 22 as they celebrate their exceptional season and prepare for continued success in the future. 23 24 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head 25 Coach Andy Lee.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Jerry J. Guillot.

DIGEST 2017 Regular Session

SR 177 Original

LaFleur

Commends the LSU Eunice Lady Bengals softball team upon winning the 2017 NJCAA Division II national championship.