DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 68 Original	2018 Regular Session	Torry Brown
nd oo Onginal	2018 Regular Session	Terry Brown

Abstract: Provides relative to the board of commissioners of the LaSalle Economic Development District.

<u>Present law</u> provides for the creation of the LaSalle Economic Development District as a political subdivision of the state for the purpose of promoting and encouraging industrial development to stimulate the economy through commerce, industry, and research and for the utilization and development of natural and human resources of the area by providing job opportunities. <u>Present law</u> further provides that the district shall be governed by a board of commissioners. <u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u>.

Present law provides that the board of commissioners includes the following members:

- (1) One member appointed by the town council of Jena.
- (2) One member appointed by the town council of Olla.
- (3) One member appointed by the town council of Tullos.
- (4) One member appointed by the town council of Urania.
- (5) One member appointed by each state and federally chartered financial institution with offices in LaSalle Parish.
- (6) One member appointed by the LaSalle Parish School Board.
- (7) One member appointed by the LaSalle Police Jury.

Proposed law retains present law.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the mayor of each incorporated municipality in LaSalle Parish is a nonvoting member. <u>Proposed law</u> provides that such mayors are voting members.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the LaSalle Development Board and the LaSalle Parish Chamber of Commerce each appoint three members. <u>Proposed law</u> repeals <u>present law</u>

Proposed law provides that the Jena Band of Choctaw Indians appoints one member and the

members of the board of commissioners appoint four additional members.

<u>Present law</u> requires that the town councils of Jena, Olla, Tullos, and Urania make their appointments in a public meeting from applications submitted by residents of the respective municipality. <u>Proposed law</u> deletes this requirement.

<u>Present law</u> requires that most members of the board reside in LaSalle Parish. <u>Proposed law</u> requires instead that all board members be residents of LaSalle Parish, operate a business in LaSalle Parish, or be employed in LaSalle Parish. Further provides that a member of the board of commissioners of the Olla, Urania, Tullos, Standard Economic and Industrial Development District is not prohibited from serving on the board.

<u>Present law</u> requires that any vacancy in the membership of the board be filled in the manner of the original appointment. If the entity responsible for the appointment fails to fill a vacancy within 30 days, <u>present law</u> requires the board to appoint an interim successor to serve until the position is filled by the appointing entity. <u>Proposed law</u> provides instead that if a vacancy is not filled within 30 days, the board may appoint an interim successor to serve for the remainder of the unexpired term.

<u>Present law</u> prohibits members of the board and family members from bidding on or entering into any contract, subcontract, or other transaction that is under the jurisdiction of the district. <u>Proposed</u> <u>law</u> deletes this prohibition.

<u>Present law</u> (the Code of Governmental Ethics), which prohibits such contractual arrangement, remains applicable to the board.

Authorizes board members serving on the effective date of <u>proposed law</u> to serve for the remainder of their unexpired terms notwithstanding the provisions of <u>proposed law</u>.

(Amends R.S. 33:130.202)