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HB 585 Original 2018 Regular Session Stokes

Abstract: Provides relative to establishments selling low and high alcoholic content beverages,
prohibits certain nude and semi-nude activities at permitted establishments, and provides for
the inclusion of certain issues in the Louisiana Responsible Vendor Program relating to
human trafficking.

Present law provides for the permitting requirements for establishments selling beverages of high
and low alcoholic content.

Present law authorizes live entertainment in any licensed premises, but prohibits performance of acts,
or simulation of acts, of:

(1) Sexual intercourse, masturbation, sodomy, bestiality, oral copulation, flagellation, or
any sexual acts which are prohibited by law.

(2) The touching, caressing or fondling of the breast, buttocks, anus, or genitals.
3) The displaying of the pubic hair, anus, vulva, genitals, or nipple of the female breast.

Proposed law retains the present law prohibition on the permittee from allowing any person to
engage in sexual intercourse, masturbation, sodomy, bestiality, oral copulation, flagellation, or any
sexual acts which are prohibited by law, but removes the prohibition of touching, caressing or
fondling of the breast, buttocks, anus, or genitals, or the displaying of the pubic hair, anus, vulva,
genitals, or nipple of the female breast.

Present law further provides that entertainers whose breasts or buttocks are exposed to view shall
perform only upon a stage at least 18 inches above the immediate floor level and removed at least

three feet from the nearest patron, and requires such entertainers to be 21 years of age or older.

Proposed law prohibits any permittee from allowing any person to appear in a semi-nude condition
upon the licensed premises unless the person is 21 years of age or older.

Proposed law provides definitions for "semi-nude" and "fully opaque covering".

Present law prohibits persons from using artificial devices or inanimate objects to depict any of the
prohibited activities provided in present law.



Proposed law deletes present law but prohibits persons from appearing upon the licensed premises
in a state of nudity, and defines "nudity" as the showing of the pubic hair, anus, vulva, or genitals.

Present law provides a list of acts or conduct on licensed premises which are deemed to constitute
lewd, immoral, or improper entertainment, and prohibits permits for the sale of high and low alcohol
for premises where such conduct or acts are permitted.

Proposed law amends present law to provide that the provisions of proposed law only apply to
licensed premises that regularly offer live performances or other conduct involving nudity or
semi-nudity, and shall not apply to performances by burlesque dancers who are scheduled or hired
to perform for a live audience.

Proposed law provides a definition for "human trafficking guardian".

Present law provides for the approval of a Louisiana Responsible Vendor Program, designed to
educate vendors and their employees and customers about selling, serving, and consuming alcoholic
beverages in a responsible manner and selling and serving tobacco products.

Proposed law retains present law and provides for the program to include issues related to the
problem, identification, and reporting of potential or actual victims of human trafficking and
available prevention and assistance services.

Proposed law specifies that the server training courses include issues related to human trafficking
and techniques to identify and report suspected human trafficking.

Proposed law requires the commissioner to notify permit holders of known illegal activity and to
provide notice to the owner to cure the illegal activity.

(Amends R.S. 26:90(D)-(G), R.S. 26:286(D)-(G), and R.S. 26:933(B)(intro. para.); Adds R.S.
26:932(11), 933(C)(9), and 935(D))



