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PROBATION OR INCREASE GF EX See Note
Provides relative to probation and the defendant's eligibility to earn compliance credits or early termination
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Proposed law provides for the maximum duration of probation for defendants convicted of certain offenses, provides for earned compliance
credits, provides a procedure by which the court determines whether a defendant has earned compliance credits toward his/her probation

period and whether the probation term may be terminated early.

EXPENDITURES 2018-19 2019-20 2020-21 2021-22 2022-23 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE

Agy. Self-Gen. INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE

Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total

REVENUES 2018-19 2019-20 2020-21 2021-22 2022-23 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE

Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
/Annual Total

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

Proposed law will result in an increase in SGF and SGR expenditures in the Department of Public Safety and Corrections - Corrections
Services as a result of the maximum probation period for certain first, second and third convictions of a noncapital felony or for a fourth
DWI conviction increasing from 3 years to 5 years, and provides for certain requirements to earn compliance credits for probation/early
termination. For each offender on probation for the offenses listed above, it would cost the state $942 per offender annually ($2.58 per
day, per offender x 365 days) or $1,884 total per offender for the two year increase in probation ($942 x 2 years).

REVENUE EXPLANATION

Proposed law will result in an increase in SGR as a result of increasing the maximum probation period from three to five years for certain
first, second and third convictions of a noncapital felony or for a fourth DWI conviction. The Louisiana Code of Criminal Procedure (CCRP)
895.1(C) provides for a minimum monthly probation fee of $60 up to a maximum of $110 payable to the Department of Public Safety and
Corrections or such other probation office, agency, or officer as designated by the court, to defray the cost of supervision. If the probation
supervision services are rendered by an agency other than the department, the fee may be ordered payable to that agency. These fees are
only to supplement the level of funds that would ordinarily be available from regular state appropriations or any other source of funding.
CCRP 895.1(E) provides that the probation fee assigned by the court for violations of controlled dangerous substance laws shall range from
not less than $50 to not more than $100 payable to the Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement to be credited to the Drug Abuse
Education and Treatment Fund. Corrections Services reports that individuals released on probation are customarily assessed a monthly fee
by the courts of approximately $60.

Present law also provides that the court may, in lieu of the monthly supervision fee, require the defendant to perform a specified amount
of community service work each month if the court finds the defendant is unable to pay the minimum supervision fee. Therefore, the exact
impact of the proposed law is not known as the court determines whether a fee is to be assessed or the convicted shall perform community
service work.
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