## DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

	0010 D 1 0 1	
HB 870 Original	2018 Regular Session	Garofalo
U	e	

Abstract: Reduces the membership of the La. International Deep Water Gulf Transfer Terminal board of commissioners.

<u>Present law</u> established a 15 member board of commissioners for the La. International Deep Water Gulf Transfer Terminal, consisting of the secretary of the Dept. of Economic Development and the secretary of the Dept. of Transportation and Development, the chairman of the House and Senate committees on transportation, highways, and public works or their designees and 11 commissioners to be appointed by the governor.

<u>Proposed law</u> reduces the membership of the board from 15 to 9 and removes the chairmen of the House and Senate committees on transportation, highways, and public works.

<u>Present law</u> requires the commissioners be chosen as follows: One member selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the Ports Association of La.; one member selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the La. Association of Business and Industry; one member selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the La. Maritime Association; one member selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the La. River Pilots Association; two members at large; one member appointed by the American Federation of Labor-Congress of Industrial Organizations; one member selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the president of the La. State Senate; one member selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the speaker of the La. House of Representatives; one member selected from a list of three nominees, who are residents of Plaquemines Parish, submitted jointly by the chief executive officer and the governing authority of Plaquemines Parish; and one member selected by the N.O. Public Belt Railway, and appointed by the governor, who must be a nonvoting member.

Proposed law reduces the member at large appointment from 2 to 1.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes the member from the House that is selected from a list of three names submitted by the speaker of the La. House of Representatives and removes the member from the Senate that is selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the president of the La. State Senate.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes the member selected from a list of three names submitted jointly by the chief executive officer and the governing authority of Plaquemines Parish.

Proposed law removes the member selected by the N.O. Public Belt Railway, who is appointed by

the governor.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes the member that is selected from a list of three names submitted by the La. Maritime Association and the member that is selected from a list of three names submitted by the La. River Pilots Association, and adds that one member shall be selected from a list of two nominees, with one nominee being submitted by both the La. River Pilots' Association and the La. Maritime Association.

<u>Proposed law</u> adds one member, who must reside in and be registered to vote in Plaquemines Parish, to the commission that is appointed by the legislative delegation of Plaquemines Parish. Further provides that if the appointee is a member of the legislative delegation of Plaquemines Parish, the term of the appointment will run concurrent with the term in office.

<u>Proposed law</u> adds one member, who must reside in and be registered to vote in St. Bernard Parish, to the commission that is appointed by the legislative delegation of St. Bernard Parish. Further provides that if the appointee is a member of the legislative delegation of St. Bernard Parish, the term of the appointment will run concurrent with the term in office.

<u>Present law</u> specifies that the commissioners appointed are appointed for terms of six years and that no commissioner can serve more than two consecutive terms.

<u>Proposed law</u> increases the amount of consecutive terms that a commissioner may serve from 2 to 3.

<u>Present law</u> requires the board of commissioners to seek the approval of the House and Senate committees on transportation, highways, and public works and the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget prior to the adoption of any rule or regulation for the maintenance and operation of the authority.

Proposed law removes present law.

<u>Present law</u> requires the board of commissioners to elect a president, two vice-presidents, a secretary, and a treasurer from among the members of the board.

Proposed law reduces the amount of vice-presidents to be elected from 2 to 1.

<u>Present law</u> specifies that all matters to be acted upon by the board of commissioners or the executive board require the affirmative vote of a majority of the board, with the exception that the affirmative vote of not less than 10 commissioners is required to select the executive director.

<u>Proposed law changes present law by requiring the affirmative vote of a majority of the members</u> present constituting a quorum, and reduces the number of affirmative votes of commissioners to select the executive director from 10 to 6.

Present law requires the board to make an annual report to the governor, the House and Senate

committees on transportation, highways, and public works, and the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget from the entities to which the board must make an annual report.

Effective July 1, 2018.

(Amends R.S. 34:3494(A) and (B), 3495(A), (C), and (G) and 3496(A))