SLS 18RS-3039 **ORIGINAL**

2018 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 171

BY SENATOR BARROW

COMMENDATIONS. Commends the Madison Preparatory Academy Chargers boys' basketball team on winning the 2018 LHSAA Class 3A championship.

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend the Madison Preparatory Academy boys' basketball team on winning the 2018
3	Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 3A championship.
4	WHEREAS, the Madison Preparatory Academy Chargers defeated the Peabody
5	Magnet High School Warhorses by a score of 69-50 to take the Louisiana High School
6	Athletic Association Class 3A state title on March 10, 2018, at the Burton Coliseum
7	Complex in Lake Charles, Louisiana; and
8	WHEREAS, the win gave the Chargers their fourth straight state title and fifth in
9	eight years within four classifications; and
10	WHEREAS, Josh Leblanc scored nineteen points, grabbed twelve rebounds, and
11	blocked three shots to lead the Chargers and secure his selection as the Most Outstanding
12	Player in the title game; and
13	WHEREAS, he gave the Chargers a 25-24 lead late in the first half on a dunk tip-in,
14	with Tyrese Walker and Tyler Brooks adding baskets in the last minutes of the half; and
15	WHEREAS, the Chargers' lead grew to nine points at the end of the third quarter
16	with the Warhorses pulling within 47-41 with just over four minutes left, but the Chargers
17	scored the next fourteen points to put the game out of reach; and
18	WHEREAS, Tyrese Walker scored six points in the fourth-quarter run, finishing with

seventeen points and five assists, and Jharon Whitfield added ten points; and 1 WHEREAS, the members of the talented Chargers squad, Tyresse Walker, Jahein 2 3 Spencer, Kevon Shannon, Malik Gray, Elijah Tate, Marcus Guss, Eldred Jackson, Tyler 4 Brooks, Larry Browder, Josh LeBlanc, Kobe Julien, Jharon Whitfield, Jordan Johnson, and Jason Perry, merit recognition and congratulations for their extraordinary performance and 5 6 their competitive spirit throughout the season and the tournament; and 7 WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest level of athletic 8 excellence throughout the tournament and each of them deserves recognition for their vital 9 contribution to the winning effort; and 10 WHEREAS, head coach, Jeffery Jones Sr., and assistant coaches, Torry Beaulieu, 11 James Ross, and Darrel Owens, instilled an ethic of winning and demonstrated the kind of 12 leadership and motivational skills needed to produce winners both on and off the court; and 13 WHEREAS, the Madison Preparatory Academy Chargers boys' basketball team is 14 recognized for the well-deserved accolades earned throughout the season and showcasing 15 the extraordinary athletic abilities they have displayed, particularly at the most difficult level 16 of high school competition. THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana 17 18 does hereby express its sincere congratulations to the Madison Preparatory Academy 19 Chargers boys' basketball team and their coaches on winning the 2018 Louisiana High 20 School Athletic Association Class 3A championship and for the sportsmanship shown while 21 achieving such high honors for themselves, for Madison Preparatory Academy, the city of

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the principal of Madison Preparatory Academy.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Nancy Vicknair.

DIGEST 2018 Regular Session

Barrow

SR 171 Original

22

23

24

Baton Rouge, and the state of Louisiana.

Commends the Madison Preparatory Academy boys' basketball team on winning the 2018 LHSAA Class 3A championship.