2018 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 171

BY SENATOR BARROW

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Madison Preparatory Academy boys basketball team on winning the 2018 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 3A championship.

WHEREAS, the Madison Preparatory Academy Chargers defeated the Peabody Magnet High School Warhorses by a score of 69-50 to take the Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 3A state title on March 10, 2018, at the Burton Coliseum Complex in Lake Charles, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the win gave the Chargers their fourth straight state title and their fifth in eight years within four classifications; and

WHEREAS, Josh Leblanc scored nineteen points, grabbed twelve rebounds, and blocked three shots to lead the Chargers and secure his selection as the Most Outstanding Player in the title game; and

WHEREAS, he gave the Chargers a 25-24 lead late in the first half on a dunk tip-in, with Tyrese Walker and Tyler Brooks adding baskets in the last minutes of the half; and

WHEREAS, the Chargers' lead grew to nine points at the end of the third quarter with the Warhorses pulling within 47-41 with just over four minutes left, but the Chargers scored the next fourteen points to put the game out of reach; and

WHEREAS, Tyrese Walker scored six points in the fourth-quarter run, finishing with seventeen points and five assists, and Jharon Whitfield added ten points; and

WHEREAS, the members of the talented Chargers squad, Tyresse Walker, Jahein Spencer, Kevon Shannon, Malik Gray, Elijah Tate, Marcus Guss, Eldred Jackson, Tyler Brooks, Larry Browder, Josh LeBlanc, Kobe Julien, Jharon Whitfield, Jordan Johnson, and Jason Perry, merit recognition and congratulations for their extraordinary performance and their competitive spirit throughout the season and the tournament; and WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest level of athletic excellence throughout the tournament and each of them deserves recognition for their vital contribution to the winning effort; and

WHEREAS, head coach, Jeffery Jones Sr., and assistant coaches, Torry Beaulieu, James Ross, and Darrel Owens, instilled an ethic of winning and demonstrated the kind of leadership and motivational skills needed to produce winners both on and off the court; and

WHEREAS, the Madison Preparatory Academy Chargers boys' basketball team is recognized for the well-deserved accolades earned throughout the season and showcasing the extraordinary athletic abilities they have displayed, particularly at the most difficult level of high school competition.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby express its sincere congratulations to the Madison Preparatory Academy Chargers boys' basketball team and their coaches on winning the 2018 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 3A championship and for the sportsmanship shown while achieving such high honors for themselves, for Madison Preparatory Academy, the city of Baton Rouge, and the state of Louisiana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the principal of Madison Preparatory Academy.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE