# 2018 Regular Session

## HOUSE BILL NO. 68

## BY REPRESENTATIVE TERRY BROWN

1	AN ACT
2	To amend and reenact R.S. 33:130.202, relative to the LaSalle Economic Development
3	District; to provide relative to the board of commissioners; to provide relative to the
4	appointment of board members; to provide relative to residency requirements for
5	board members; to provide relative to meetings of the board; and to provide for
6	related matters.
7	Notice of intention to introduce this Act has been published
8	as provided by Article III, Section 13 of the Constitution of
9	Louisiana.
10	Be it enacted by the Legislature of Louisiana:
11	Section 1. R.S. 33:130.202 is hereby amended and reenacted to read as follows:
12	§130.202. Board of commissioners; members, officers; agents and employees
13	A. The district shall be governed by a board of commissioners consisting of
14	members appointed as follows:
15	(1) The town council of each of the following municipalities shall make its
16	appointments in a public meeting from applications submitted by residents of the
17	municipality for which the member is appointed appoint one member:
18	(a) One member appointed by the town council of Jena;.
19	(b) One member appointed by the town council of Olla;.
20	(c) One member appointed by the town council of Tullos;
21	(d) One member appointed by the town council of Urania.
22	(2) Each state and federally chartered financial institution with offices in
23	LaSalle Parish shall appoint one member who is a resident of LaSalle Parish.
24	(3) The LaSalle Parish School Board shall appoint one member who is a
25	resident of LaSalle Parish.

# Page 1 of 3

CODING: Words in struck through type are deletions from existing law; words <u>underscored</u> are additions.

# **ENROLLED**

1	(4) The LaSalle Police Jury shall appoint one member who is a resident of
2	LaSalle Parish.
3	(5) The LaSalle Development Board Jena Band of Choctaw Indians shall
4	appoint three one members member who are residents of LaSalle Parish.
5	(6) The LaSalle Parish Chamber of Commerce board of commissioners of
6	this district shall appoint three four members who are residents of LaSalle Parish.
7	(7) The term of office for all members shall be four years.
8	(8) The mayor of each incorporated municipality in LaSalle Parish shall be
9	a nonvoting ex officio member of the board of commissioners.
10	B. The term of office for all appointed members shall be four years. Any
11	vacancy in the membership of the board of commissioners, occurring either by
12	reason of the expiration of the term for which appointed or by reason of death,
13	resignation, or otherwise, shall be filled in the manner of the original appointment.
14	In the event that If the entity responsible for the appointment of a member fails to fill
15	within thirty days a vacancy, the board of commissioners shall may appoint an
16	interim successor to serve until the position is filled by the appointing entity for the
17	remainder of the unexpired term.
18	C. Any member of the board of commissioners may be removed by the
19	entity that originally appointed him for cause.
20	D. The members of the board of commissioners shall serve without
21	compensation. The board of commissioners shall have the power to organize and
22	reorganize executive, clerical, and other departments and to fix the duties and powers
23	and compensation of all officers, agents, and employees of the district. The board
24	of commissioners may reimburse any member for expenses actually incurred in the
25	performance of his duties hereunder.
26	E. Members of the board, individually, and members of their immediate
27	families are prohibited from bidding on or entering into any contract, subcontract,
28	or other transaction that is under the supervision or jurisdiction of the district.
29	F. The board of commissioners shall elect from among its own members a
30	president, a vice president, a secretary, and a treasurer, whose duties shall be those

Page 2 of 3

CODING: Words in struck through type are deletions from existing law; words <u>underscored</u> are additions.

1 2 usual to such offices. At the option of the board of commissioners, the offices of secretary and treasurer may be held by one person.

G. The board of commissioners shall meet in regular session once each month and shall also meet in special session as often as the president of the board convenes them or on the written request of eight members. Eight members of the board of commissioners shall constitute a quorum.

H. The board of commissioners shall prescribe rules to govern its meetings,
is authorized to may draft and implement bylaws to control and implement the
activities of the board, shall maintain suitable offices in the parish of LaSalle, and
may contract with and employ attorneys, clerks, engineers, deputy commissioners,
superintendents, and other agents and employees and shall fix their compensation
and terms of employment.

13I. All members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of LaSalle14Parish, operate a business in LaSalle Parish, or be employed in LaSalle Parish. A15member of the board of commissioners of the Olla, Urania, Tullos, Standard16Economic and Industrial Development District is not prohibited from serving on the17board of commissioners.

Section 2. A member of the board of commissioners of the LaSalle Economic
Development District serving on the effective date of this Act may serve for the remainder
of his unexpired term notwithstanding the provisions of this Act. A vacancy that occurs after
the effective date of this Act in a position previously filled by appointment pursuant to R.S.
33:130.202(A)(5) or (6) shall be filled pursuant to R.S. 33:130:202(A)(5) or (6) respectively,
as amended by this Act.

## SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

# PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

# GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_

#### Page 3 of 3

CODING: Words in struck through type are deletions from existing law; words <u>underscored</u> are additions.