RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 58 (HB 117) 2018 Regular Session Dustin Miller

<u>Existing law</u> provides for the appointment of members to the boards of commissioners of fire protection districts. Generally provides that such boards consist of five commissioners; provides exceptions.

<u>Existing law</u> provides that if one municipality is included within a district lying within a single parish, members shall be appointed as follows:

- (1) Two members appointed by the parish governing authority.
- (2) Two members appointed by the governing authority of the municipality.
- (3) One member selected by the other four members and shall serve as chairman of the board.

<u>New law</u> provides that the board of commissioners of St. Landry Parish Fire District No. 7 shall consist of seven members. Further provides that the governing authority of the parish shall appoint the additional members and set the initial terms of the additional members.

Effective August 1, 2018.

(Adds R.S. 40:1496(B)(5)(e))