2018 Regular Session

Smith

<u>Prior law</u> created the La. Commission on HIV, AIDS, and Hepatitis C within the office of the governor. <u>New law</u> places the commission within the office of public health of the La. Dept. of Health and changes the commission's name to the La. Commission on HIV, AIDS, and Hepatitis C Education, Prevention, and Treatment. Reduces the number of commission members <u>from</u> 36 <u>to</u> 33. Provides that the commission shall be composed of the following members:

- (1) 20 members shall serve at the governor's pleasure and shall be appointed by the governor as follows:
 - (a) Two persons living with HIV, at least one of whom represents a racial or ethnic subpopulation.
 - (b) Two persons living with hepatitis C, one of whom is co-infected with HIV and at least one of whom represents a racial or ethnic subpopulation.
 - (c) One representative from a community-based provider organization which provides services to persons living with HIV, and which represents a racial or ethnic subpopulation.
 - (d) One medically qualified representative from a medical provider or community-based provider organization which provides services to persons living with hepatitis C or HIV, and which represents a racial or ethnic subpopulation.
 - (e) One representative from the La. Primary Care Association.
 - (f) One representative from the statewide HIV Community Planning Group.
 - (g) One nurse representative from the La. State Nurses Association who serves patients with HIV or hepatitis C.
 - (h) One social worker representative from the La. Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers.
 - (i) Four Ryan White HIV/AIDS Treatment Modernization Act grantees consisting of one Part A grantee, one Part B grantee, one Part C grantee, and one Part D grantee.
 - (j) Two representatives from the faith-based community.
 - (k) Three representatives from the La. Dept. of Health who have knowledge of policies related to HIV, AIDS, and hepatitis C and who work in the office of public health, office of behavioral health, and bureau of health services financing, respectively.
 - (1) One representative from the office of the governor.
- (2) 11 members shall serve by virtue of their positions as follows:
 - (a) The state superintendent of education or his designee.
 - (b) The secretary of the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections or his designee.
 - (c) The commissioner of insurance or his designee.
 - (d) The chancellor of the LSU Health Sciences Center at New Orleans or his designee.

- (e) The chancellor of the LSU Health Sciences Center at Shreveport or his designee.
- (f) The dean of the Tulane University School of Medicine or his designee.
- (g) The dean of the School of Pharmacy of the University of La. at Monroe or his designee.
- (h) The dean of the College of Pharmacy of Xavier University of La. or his designee.
- (i) The president of the La. Psychological Association or his designee.
- (j) The president of the La. State Medical Society or his designee.
- (k) The president of the La. Hospital Association or his designee.
- (3) Two members shall be appointed as follows:
 - (a) One member of the Senate appointed by the president of the Senate.
 - (b) One member of the House of Representatives appointed by the speaker of the House of Representatives.

New law eliminates the following members from the commission as constituted in prior law:

- (1) One representative from a community-based provider organization providing services to persons infected with HIV.
- (2) One medically qualified representative from a medical provider or community-based provider organization providing services to persons infected with hepatitis C or HIV.
- (3) One representative from the statewide HIV Community Planning Group.
- (4) One Ryan White HIV/AIDS Treatment Modernization Act grantee.
- (5) One representative from the La. Interchurch Conference (replaced, per <u>new law</u>, with two representatives from the faith-based community).
- (6) One representative from a dental provider serving patients with HIV or hepatitis C.
- (7) One representative from the La. Dept. of Health.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that the chairman of the commission shall be elected annually by the commission members. <u>New law</u> provides that the chairman shall be appointed by the governor.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that the chairman of the commission shall report directly to the governor. <u>New law</u> deletes <u>prior law</u>.

<u>New law</u> increases the minimum number of meetings that the commission is required to hold annually <u>from</u> four <u>to</u> six. Deletes <u>prior law</u> requiring that at least two of these meetings be for the purpose of reviewing reports of the Ryan White Regional Consortia.

New law changes the commission's termination date from September 1, 2017 to September 1, 2022.

Effective upon signature of governor (May 15, 2018).

(Amends R.S. 40:2018.1; Adds R.S. 36:259(M); Repeals R.S. 36:4(B)(1)(ee))