RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 700 (HB 812) 2018 Regular Session

Leopold

Existing law created the La. Seafood Promotion and Marketing Board consisting of 13 members appointed by the Lt. Governor as follows:

- (1) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by members from La. of the American Shrimp Processors Association.
- (2) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the La. Oyster Dealers and Growers Association.
- (3) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the La. crawfish industry. The appointment shall rotate between a farmer, a harvester, and a processor.
- (4) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the La. Oyster Task Force.
- (5) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the La. Retailers Association and shall be a seafood buyer.
- (6) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the La. Shrimp Association.
- (7) One member who represents the commercial saltwater finfish industry. The appointment shall rotate between a harvester and a processor.
- (8) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the La. Restaurant Association.
- (9) One member who is a seafood processor.
- (10) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the Crab Task Force.
- (11) One member who represents the wild catfish industry. The appointment shall rotate between a farmer, a harvester, and a processor.
- (12) One member who is a marketing specialist.
- (13) One member who represents the alligator industry. The appointment shall rotate between a farmer, a harvester, and a processor.

The 14th member is designated to be the secretary of the Dept. of Culture, Recreation and Tourism or his designated representative.

<u>New law</u> provides for 18 members of the board by adding the following ex officio nonvoting members:

- (1) The secretary of the Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheries or his designated representative from the department staff.
- (2) The director of La. Sea Grant or his designated representative from the Sea Grant staff.
- (3) The commissioner of agriculture or his designated representative from the department staff.
- (4) The president of the La. Farm Bureau Federation or his designated representative.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that eight members of the board constituted a quorum. <u>New law</u> provides that seven members of the board constitutes a quorum.

Effective August 1, 2018.

(Amends R.S. 56:578.2(A)(1) and (C))