RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 615 (HB 36) 2018 Regular Session

Pearson

Existing law, pursuant to federal law, provides for a deferred compensation plan for public employees which allows an employee to defer and invest a portion of his income. Existing law provides for the plan to be administered by a commission.

Existing law provides that the commission consists of seven members as follows:

- (1) The state treasurer.
- (2) The commissioner of administration.
- (3) The commissioner of insurance.
- (4) The commissioner of financial institutions.
- (5) Three participant members elected by plan participants.

<u>New law</u> increases the membership of the commission <u>from</u> seven <u>to</u> nine by adding the speaker of the House of Representatives and the president of the Senate as members of the commission. Further authorizes the speaker and president to appoint designees.

<u>New law</u> establishes that four members of the commission constitute quorum.

Effective August 1, 2018.

(Amends R.S. 42:1301(4) and 1302(B))