SLS 20RS-121

ORIGINAL

2020 Regular Session

SENATE BILL NO. 40

BY SENATOR ALLAIN

LOCAL AGENCIES. Provides relative to the commissioners of Hospital Service Districts in St. Mary Parish. (8/1/20)

1	AN ACT
2	To amend and reenact R.S. 46:1053(B)(3), relative to the commissioners of Hospital Service
3	Districts in St. Mary Parish; to remove provisions relative to transition; and to
4	provide for related matters.
5	Notice of intention to introduce this Act has been published.
6	Be it enacted by the Legislature of Louisiana:
7	Section 1. R.S. 46:1053(B)(3) is hereby amended and reenacted to read as follows:
8	§1053. Commission; qualification of members; appointment; vacancies;
9	compensation; removal of commissioners; certain powers
10	* * *
11	B. * * *
12	(3) Notwithstanding any provision of this Section to the contrary, at the
13	expiration of the terms of office of the commissioners of Hospital Service District
14	Number 2 of St. Mary Parish serving on July 1, 1991, the successors shall be
15	appointed for a term of four years in the same manner as the predecessor appointees
16	were selected, and no commissioner shall serve for more than two consecutive four
17	year terms.

Page 1 of 2 Coding: Words which are struck through are deletions from existing law; words in **boldface type and underscored** are additions. * * *

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Michael Bell.

SB 40 Original

DIGEST 2020 Regular Session

Allain

<u>Present law</u> provides that at the expiration of the terms of office of the commissioners of Hospital Service District Number 2 of St. Mary Parish serving on July 1, 1991, the successors shall be appointed for a term of four years in the same manner as the predecessor appointees were selected, and no commissioner shall serve for more than two consecutive four year terms.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that the commissioners of Hospital Service District Number 2 of St. Mary Parish are to be appointed for a term of four years and no commissioner shall serve for more than two consecutive four year terms.

Effective August 1, 2020.

(Amends R.S. 46:1053(B)(3))

1