The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Morgan B. Robertson.

DIGEST 2020 Regular Session

Abraham

<u>Proposed law</u> creates the La. Cybersecurity Initiative Fund (fund) for the purpose of funding degree and certificate programs in cybersecurity fields in order to meet workforce needs and provides the following:

- (1) Fund monies shall be appropriated to the Bd. of Regents to be distributed to public postsecondary education institutions.
- (2) Institutions shall use the funds for expansion of cybersecurity programs.
- (3) Public postsecondary education management boards shall certify that a match of at least 25% is guaranteed by a private entity.
- (4) Fund monies shall not be included in the public postsecondary funding formula calculation and are in addition to, and shall not affect, any state general fund allocations to institutions.
- (5) The Bd. of Regents shall annually submit a report to certain legislative committees containing specified information relative to the fund.

<u>Proposed law</u> creates the Cybersecurity Education Management Council (council) as a subcommittee of the Bd. of Regents for the purpose of advising the board with respect to distributions from the fund. Requires the council to:

- (1) Establish proposal criteria, a review process, and a selection process for the distribution of funds.
- (2) Annually review and approve the list of degree and certificate programs upon which the distribution is based and the final distribution amounts.

Proposed law provides for council membership as follows:

(1) Two members appointed by the governor.

SB 79 Original

- (2) The commissioner of higher education or his designee.
- (3) A representative of the state Dept. of Education with expertise in science, technology, engineering, and math education appointed by the state superintendent of education.
- (4) The president of the La. Chemical Assoc. or his designee.

- (5) The president of the La. State University System or his designee.
- (6) The president of the Southern University System or his designee.
- (7) The president of the University of La. System or his designee.
- (8) The president of the La. Community and Technical College System or his designee.
- (9) The secretary of the La. Workforce Commission or his designee.
- (10) The secretary of the La. Dept. of Economic Development or his designee.

Proposed law further requires:

- (1) A vacancy to be filled in the same manner as the original appointment and members to elect a chairman, vice chairman, and other officers as they deem necessary.
- (2) Members to serve without compensation; they shall be reimbursed for actual expenses to the extent that funds are made available.
- (3) The council to meet at least monthly; special meetings shall be held on call of the chairman or of a quorum of the members of the council.
- (4) The council to be domiciled in Baton Rouge, but it may hold public meetings elsewhere.

Effective August 1, 2020.

(Adds R.S. 17:3138.9 and R.S. 36:651(G)(9))