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HB 619 Original 2020 Regular Session Turner

Abstract:  Authorizes the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy to charge certain fees associated with
permits for pharmacy benefit managers and provides for the frequency with which the board
may assess other statutorily authorized fees.

Present law authorizes the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy, referred to hereafter as the "board", to
impose certain fees and costs for the purpose of implementing and enforcing the provisions of the
Louisiana Pharmacy Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.).

Proposed law retains present law and adds thereto an authorization for the board to charge the
following fees associated with permits for pharmacy benefit managers:

(1) Application fee for initial permit: $ 500.00

(2) Permit renewal fee, per year: $ 500.00

(3) Delinquent permit renewal fee, per year: $ 250.00

Present law enacted by §2 of Act No. 124 of the 2019 Regular Session authorizes the board to
regulate pharmacy benefit managers and becomes effective July 1, 2020.  Proposed law amends
present law to provide that the board shall charge fees for the issuance of pharmacy benefit manager
permits in the amounts authorized by proposed law.

Present law authorizes the board to charge the following annual fees:  Renewal fee for pharmacist
licenses ($100), renewal fee for pharmacy technician certifications ($50).  Proposed law revises
present law to change the term "annual" associated with these fees to "per year".

Present law authorizes the board to charge the following fees:  Pharmacy education support fee for
pharmacists ($100), delinquent fee in addition to license renewal fee for pharmacists ($50),
pharmacy education support fee for pharmacies ($100), pharmacy permit renewal fee ($125),
delinquent pharmacy permit renewal fee ($62.50), pharmacy controlled dangerous substance (CDS)
permit fee ($25), delinquent pharmacy CDS permit fee ($12.50), automated medication system
registration for pharmacies ($150), emergency drug kits for long-term care facilities ($25),
delinquent certificate renewal fee for pharmacy technicians ($25).  Proposed law revises present law
to specify that the board may charge each of these fees per year.

Effective July 1, 2020.



(Amends R.S. 37:1184(2)(a) and (b), (3)(a)(ii), (d)-(g), (i), and (j), and (4)(b) and (e), 1207(A)(1)
and (2)(a)(i), 1208, 1209, 1230(A)(1) and (2)(a)(i), 1232(B), and R.S. 37:1253 as enacted by §2 of
Act No. 124 of 2019 R.S.; Adds R.S. 37:1184(6))


