The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Matt DeVille.

DIGEST

SCR 55 Original

2020 Regular Session

Hewitt

Establishes the Closed Party Primary Task Force to study the development of a closed party primary system applicable at the federal, state, and local levels beginning with the 2022 congressional elections. Requires a written report to the legislature by January 15, 2021 and will terminate upon the date of submission of such report or February 1, 2021, whichever occurs first.

Comprises the task force of:

- (1) The chair of the Senate and Governmental Affairs Committee, or her designee.
- (2) The chair of the House and Governmental Affairs Committee, or his designee.
- (3) The Secretary of State, or his designee.
- (4) The Attorney General, or his designee.
- (5) The chair of the State Board of Election Supervisors, or his designee.
- (6) A designee from the Louisiana Clerks of Court Association.
- (7) A designee from the Louisiana Registrar of Voters Association.
- (8) A designee from the NAACP.
- (9) A designee from the Pelican Institute.
- (10) The chair of the Louisiana Democratic Party, or his designee.
- (11) The executive director of the Louisiana Democratic Party.
- (12) The chair of the Republican Party of Louisiana, or his designee.
- (13) The executive director of the Republican Party of Louisiana.
- (14) A member of the Senate, designated by the Senate president.
- (15) A member of the House of Representatives, designated by the Speaker of the House.
- (16) A designee from Louisiana's congressional delegation.

(17) A mayor designated by the Louisiana Municipal Association.

Specifies that the members of the task force serve without compensation, except for such reimbursement or per diem they are individually entitled to as members of the constituent group they represent.

Provides that the chair of the Senate and Governmental Affairs Committee shall chair the task force.

Provides that the names of the members will be submitted to the chair of the task force by July 1st and the chair will thereafter call the first meeting of the task force.