The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Curry Lann.

DIGEST 2020 Regular Session

SB 212 Engrossed

Cathey

<u>Present law</u> (R.S. 3:3403) creates the Louisiana Agricultural Commodities Commission within the Department of Agriculture and Forestry consisting of nine members appointed by the commissioner as follows:

- (1) One warehouseman appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the Rice Millers Association.
- (2) One producer appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the Louisiana Soybean Association.
- One producer appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation.
- (4) One banker who is familiar with the financing of businesses which store or market the commodities which are regulated under this Chapter, appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the Louisiana Bankers Association.
- (5) One commodity trader who executes future trades related to a hedging program for purchases or sales of commodities regulated under this Chapter, appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the commissioner.
- (6) One owner or operator of an elevator which handles both rice and soybeans, appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the Louisiana Rice Dryers Association.
- (7) One owner or operator of an inland elevator or barge-loading river facility or a licensed Louisiana grain dealer appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the Louisiana Ag Industries Association.
- (8) One producer appointed from a list of three persons nominated by the American Rice Growers Association.
- (9) One cotton merchant appointed from the state at large.

<u>Proposed law</u> changes the nominating authority for the producer appointed <u>from</u> a list of three persons nominated by the Louisiana Soybean Association <u>to</u> a list of three persons nominated by the Louisiana Cotton and Grain Association and otherwise retains present law.

Effective upon signature of the governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Amends R.S. 3:3403(A)(2))