DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 619 Reengrossed	2020 Regular Session	Turner
TID 019 Reenground	2020 Regular Session	1 011101

Abstract: Authorizes the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy to charge certain fees associated with permits for pharmacy benefit managers and provides for the frequency with which the board may assess other statutorily authorized fees.

<u>Present law</u> authorizes the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy, referred to hereafter as the "board", to impose certain fees and costs for the purpose of implementing and enforcing the provisions of the Louisiana Pharmacy Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.).

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> and adds thereto an authorization for the board to charge the following fees associated with permits for pharmacy benefit managers:

(1)	Application fee for initial permit:	\$ 500.00
(2)	Permit renewal fee, per year:	\$ 500.00
(3)	Delinquent permit renewal fee, per year:	\$ 250.00

<u>Present law</u> enacted by §2 of Act No. 124 of the 2019 Regular Session authorizes the board to regulate pharmacy benefit managers and becomes effective July 1, 2020. <u>Proposed law</u> amends <u>present law</u> to provide the following:

- (1) The reporting requirements for pharmacy benefit managers to be promulgated by the board shall pertain to permit renewals.
- (2) That the board shall charge fees for the issuance of pharmacy benefit manager permits in the amounts authorized by proposed law.

<u>Present law</u> authorizes the board to charge the following annual fees: Renewal fee for pharmacist licenses (\$100), renewal fee for pharmacy technician certifications (\$50). <u>Proposed law</u> revises <u>present law</u> to change the term "annual" associated with these fees to "per year".

<u>Present law</u> authorizes the board to charge the following fees: Pharmacy education support fee for pharmacists (\$100), delinquent fee in addition to license renewal fee for pharmacists (\$50), pharmacy education support fee for pharmacies (\$100), pharmacy permit renewal fee (\$125), delinquent pharmacy permit renewal fee (\$62.50), pharmacy controlled dangerous substance (CDS) permit fee (\$25), delinquent pharmacy CDS permit fee (\$12.50), automated medication system

registration for pharmacies (\$150), emergency drug kits for long-term care facilities (\$25), delinquent certificate renewal fee for pharmacy technicians (\$25). <u>Proposed law</u> revises <u>present law</u> to specify that the board may charge each of these fees per year.

Effective July 1, 2020.

(Amends R.S. 37:1184(2)(a) and (b), (3)(a)(ii), (d)-(g), (i), and (j), and (4)(b) and (e), 1207(A)(1) and (2)(a)(i), 1208, 1209, 1230(A)(1) and (2)(a)(i), 1232(B), and R.S. 37:1253 as enacted by §2 of Act No. 124 of 2019 R.S.; Adds R.S. 37:1184(6))

Summary of Amendments Adopted by House

- The Committee Amendments Proposed by <u>House Committee on Health and Welfare</u> to the <u>original</u> bill:
- 1. Amend <u>present law</u> to provide that the reporting requirements for pharmacy benefit managers to be promulgated by the La. Board of Pharmacy shall pertain to permit renewals.