RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 214 (SB 120)

2020 Regular Session

Smith

<u>Prior law</u> provided that the Louisiana State Racing Commission shall be composed of 13 members appointed by the governor.

<u>Prior law</u> prohibited any member of the commission from being an official, member of any board of directors, or person financially interested in any race track or race meeting licensed by the commission. Prohibited any member from directly or indirectly owning racehorses which participate in any race meeting licensed by the commission.

<u>New law</u> retains this prohibition but provides an exception that three members of the commission be owners of racehorses.

Effective August 1, 2020.

(Amends R.S. 4:144(B))