## SLS 201ES-580

## **ORIGINAL**

2020 First Extraordinary Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 47

BY SENATOR BARROW

COMMENDATIONS. Commends the Teacher of the Year from schools located in Senate District 15 for his or her exemplary and dedicated service during the 2019-2020 school year.

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 15 for his or her
3	exemplary and dedicated service during the 2019-2020 school year.
4	WHEREAS, excellence in teaching is the result of commitment, dedication,
5	inspiration, patience, creativity, hard work, and the highest order of professional integrity;
6	and
7	WHEREAS, research has proven that teachers are paramount to student achievement
8	and it has been estimated that a teacher has two to three times the impact of any other school
9	factor; and
10	WHEREAS, Teacher of the Year programs were created as a means to publicly
11	honor and recognize the critical role of instructional excellence in ensuring student success
12	in school and in life; and
13	WHEREAS, the outstanding educators named Teacher of the Year for the schools
14	located in Senate District 15 are as follows:
15	Derrick Barrow, Baker High School
16	Claudia Battley, Northdale Superintendent's Academy
17	Juanika Daniels-Benoit, Crestworth Elementary School
18	Alan Berthelot, Sherwood Middle Academic Magnet School
	Page 1 of 3

## SLS 201ES-580

1	Dana Donald-Boyd, Belaire High School
2	Crystal Briscoe, Ryan Elementary School
3	Shanda Brown, La Belle Aire Elementary School
4	Brittney Cherry, Sharon Hills Elementary School
5	Jennifer Cook, Greenbriar Elementary School
6	Robin Delaune, Baker Middle School
7	Anita Gilmore, Scotlandville Magnet High School
8	Leigh Glaser, Baker Heights Elementary School
9	Carlita Gordon, White Hills Elementary School
10	Cathy Griffin, Glen Oaks Park Elementary School
11	Kirsten Hickingbottom, Scotlandville Middle Pre-Engineering Academy
12	Trenille Kelly, Merrydale Elementary School
13	Diletha Kemp, Progress Elementary School
14	Raven Land, Twin Oaks Elementary School
15	Russia Williams-Lang, Forest Heights Academy of Excellence
16	Kalie Larriviere, Park Forest Elementary School
17	Shannon Mitchem, Northwestern Middle School
18	Amanda Moorer, Park Ridge Academic Magnet Middle School
19	Lavasha Moss, Howell Park Elementary School
20	Rhondora Myers, Melrose Elementary School
21	Sydney Phelps, Park Forest Middle School
22	Rynn Porche, Glen Oaks High School
23	Amiee Weiter Stephens, Villa Del Rey Creative Sciences and Arts Magnet School
24	LaShaunda Tate, Copper Mill Elementary School
25	Regina Thomas, Brownfields Elementary School
26	Catherine Travis, Zachary Elementary School
27	George Freeman, Zachary High School
28	Dexter Alexander, EBR Readiness Elementary School
29	Chrisy Dotson, EBR Readiness Middle School
30	Crystal Dickerson, Broadmoor High School; and

SLS 201ES-580

SR 47 Original

1	WHEREAS, these exemplary educators are held in the highest regard by their
2	students, their colleagues, and their communities.
3	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana
4	does hereby sincerely commend the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 15
5	for his or her exemplary and dedicated services.
6	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to each
7	Teacher of the Year recognized herein.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Jerry J. Guillot.

DIGEST 2020 First Extraordinary Session

Barrow

Commends the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 15 for his or her exemplary and dedicated service.