SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 47

BY SENATOR BARROW

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 15 for his or her exemplary and dedicated service during the 2019-2020 school year.

WHEREAS, excellence in teaching is the result of commitment, dedication, inspiration, patience, creativity, hard work, and the highest order of professional integrity; and

WHEREAS, research has proven that teachers are paramount to student achievement and it has been estimated that a teacher has two to three times the impact of any other school factor; and

WHEREAS, Teacher of the Year programs were created as a means to publicly honor and recognize the critical role of instructional excellence in ensuring student success in school and in life; and

WHEREAS, the outstanding educators named Teacher of the Year for the schools located in Senate District 15 are as follows:

Derrick Barrow, Baker High School

Claudia Battley, Northdale Superintendent's Academy

Juanika Daniels-Benoit, Crestworth Elementary School

Alan Berthelot, Sherwood Middle Academic Magnet School

Dana Donald-Boyd, Belaire High School

Crystal Briscoe, Ryan Elementary School

Shanda Brown, La Belle Aire Elementary School

Brittney Cherry, Sharon Hills Elementary School

Jennifer Cook, Greenbriar Elementary School

Robin Delaune, Baker Middle School

Anita Gilmore, Scotlandville Magnet High School

Leigh Glaser, Baker Heights Elementary School

Carlita Gordon, White Hills Elementary School

SR NO. 47 <u>ENROLLED</u>

Cathy Griffin, Glen Oaks Park Elementary School

Kirsten Hickingbottom, Scotlandville Middle Pre-Engineering Academy

Trenille Kelly, Merrydale Elementary School

Diletha Kemp, Progress Elementary School

Raven Land, Twin Oaks Elementary School

Russia Williams-Lang, Forest Heights Academy of Excellence

Kalie Larriviere, Park Forest Elementary School

Shannon Mitchem, Northwestern Middle School

Amanda Moorer, Park Ridge Academic Magnet Middle School

Lavasha Moss, Howell Park Elementary School

Rhondora Myers, Melrose Elementary School

Sydney Phelps, Park Forest Middle School

Rynn Porche, Glen Oaks High School

Amiee Weiter Stephens, Villa Del Rey Creative Sciences and Arts Magnet School

LaShaunda Tate, Copper Mill Elementary School

Regina Thomas, Brownfields Elementary School

Catherine Travis, Zachary Elementary School

George Freeman, Zachary High School

Dexter Alexander, EBR Readiness Elementary School

Chrisy Dotson, EBR Readiness Middle School

Crystal Dickerson, Broadmoor High School; and

WHEREAS, these exemplary educators are held in the highest regard by their students, their colleagues, and their communities.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby sincerely commend the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 15 for his or her exemplary and dedicated services.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to each Teacher of the Year recognized herein.