RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 150 (HB 443) 2020 Regular Session

Hilferty

<u>Existing law provides for the creation of the Lakeshore Crime Prevention District in Orleans</u> Parish as a political subdivision for the purpose of aiding in crime prevention and adding to the security of district residents by providing for an increase in the presence of law enforcement personnel in the district.

<u>Existing law</u> provides that the district shall be governed by a nine member board of commissioners. Eight of the nine members shall be appointed as follows:

- (1) One member appointed by the members of the La. House of Representatives who represent the area which comprises the district.
- (2) One member appointed by the members of the La. Senate who represent the area which comprises the district.
- (3) One member appointed by the mayor of the city of New Orleans.
- (4) One member appointed by the council members who represent the district.
- (5) Two members appointed by the board of the West Lakeshore Citizens Against Crime, Inc.
- (6) Two members appointed by the board of the East Lakeshore Citizens Against Crime, Inc.

<u>Prior law</u> further provided that one member of the board was appointed by the assessor for the second municipal district. <u>New law</u> provides that the board of the Lakeshore Property Owners Assoc. appoints a member.

<u>New law</u> provides that the term of office of member appointed by the assessor for the second municipal district shall terminate on the effective date of <u>new law</u>. Further provides that such member shall continue to serve until a new member is appointed pursuant to <u>new law</u>.

Effective Aug. 1, 2020.

(Amends R.S. 33:9091.7(D)(1)(c))