RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 3 (HB 5) 2020 First Extraordinary Session Marino

Existing law provides for various prescriptive, peremptive, or abandonment periods.

<u>New law</u> provides that the Supreme Court of Louisiana may suspend the running of prescriptive, peremptive, and abandonment periods for a period up to 90 days if a state of emergency or disaster is declared by the governor.

<u>New law</u> provides for continuing suspensions if the governor issues further executive orders after the 90 days have run.

<u>New law</u> provides for the period of suspension to terminate upon the earlier of an order of the Supreme Court of Louisiana or termination of the declared state of emergency or disaster.

<u>New law</u> provides that the right to file any pleading subject to the suspension shall terminate 60 days after the termination of the suspension.

Effective upon signature of governor (June 25, 2020).

(Adds C.C. Art. 3472.1 and C.C.P. Art. 562)