## RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

## ACT 202 (HB 619) 2020 Regular Session

Turner

Existing law authorizes the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy, referred to hereafter as the "board", to impose certain fees and costs for the purpose of implementing and enforcing the provisions of the Louisiana Pharmacy Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.).

<u>New law</u> adds an authorization for the board to charge the following fees associated with permits for pharmacy benefit managers:

| (1) | Application fee for initial permit:      | \$ 500.00 |
|-----|--|-----------|
| (2) | Permit renewal fee, per year:            | \$ 500.00 |
| (3) | Delinquent permit renewal fee, per year: | \$ 250.00 |

Existing law enacted by Section 2 of Act No. 124 of the 2019 Regular Session authorizes the board to regulate pharmacy benefit managers and becomes effective July 1, 2020. <u>New law</u> adds the following requirements:

- (1) The reporting requirements for pharmacy benefit managers to be promulgated by the board shall pertain to permit renewals.
- (2) The board shall charge fees for the issuance of pharmacy benefit manager permits in the amounts authorized by <u>new law</u>.

<u>Prior law</u> authorized the board to charge the following annual fees: Renewal fee for pharmacist licenses (\$100), renewal fee for pharmacy technician certifications (\$50). <u>New law</u> retains these fee types and amounts and changes the term "annual" associated with the fees to "per year".

Existing law authorizes the board to charge the following fees: Pharmacy education support fee for pharmacists (\$100), delinquent fee in addition to license renewal fee for pharmacists (\$50), pharmacy education support fee for pharmacies (\$100), pharmacy permit renewal fee (\$125), delinquent pharmacy permit renewal fee (\$62.50), pharmacy controlled dangerous substance (CDS) permit fee (\$25), delinquent pharmacy CDS permit fee (\$12.50), automated medication system registration for pharmacies (\$150), emergency drug kits for long-term care facilities (\$25), delinquent certificate renewal fee for pharmacy technicians (\$25). New law specifies that the board may charge each of these fees per year.

Effective July 1, 2020.

(Amends R.S. 37:1184(2)(a) and (b), (3)(a)(ii), (d)-(g), (i), and (j), and (4)(b) and (e), 1207(A)(1) and (2)(a)(i), 1208, 1209, 1230(A)(1) and (2)(a)(i), 1232(B), and R.S. 37:1253 as enacted by §2 of Act No. 124 of 2019 R.S.; Adds R.S. 37:1184(6))