RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 51 (SB 7) 2020 Second Extraordinary Session Hewitt

<u>Prior law</u> established a 15-member board of commissioners for the La. International Deep Water Gulf Transfer Terminal Authority, consisting of the secretary of the Dept. of Economic Development and the secretary of the Dept. of Transportation and Development, the chairman of the House and Senate committees on transportation, highways, and public works or their designees and 11 commissioners to be appointed by the governor.

<u>New law</u> reduces the membership of the board <u>from</u> 15 to 9, removes the chairmen of the House and Senate committees on transportation, highways and public works, and reduces the number of members appointed by the governor to five.

Prior law required that commissioners be chosen as follows:

- (1) One member selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the Ports Association of La.
- (2) One member selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the La. Association of Business and Industry.
- (3) One member selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the La. Maritime Association.
- (4) One member selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the La. River Pilots' Association.
- (5) Two members at large; one member appointed by the American Federation of Labor-Congress of Industrial Organizations.
- (6) One member selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the president of the Senate.
- (7) One member selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the speaker of the House of Representatives.
- (8) One member selected from a list of three nominees who are residents of Plaquemines Parish, submitted jointly by the chief executive officer and the governing authority of Plaquemines Parish.
- (9) One member selected by the N.O. Public Belt Railway and appointed by the governor, who must be a nonvoting member.

<u>New law</u> reduces the member at-large appointments <u>from</u> two <u>to</u> one; provides that two members be selected by the legislative presiding officers from the legislature who represents the legislative district in which the project is located or their designees and that they serve a term concurrent with the respective legislative presiding officer.

<u>New law</u> removes one member each selected by the La. River Pilots' Association and the La. Maritime Association and provides that one member be selected from a list of two nominees with the La. River Pilots' Association and the La. Maritime Association each submitting one nominee.

<u>New law</u> removes the member from the House that is selected from a list of three names submitted by the speaker of the House of Representatives and removes the member from the Senate that is selected from a list of three nominees submitted by the president of the Senate.

<u>New law</u> removes the member selected from a list of three names submitted jointly by the chief executive officer and the governing authority of Plaquemines Parish.

<u>New law</u> removes the member selected by the N.O. Public Belt Railway who is appointed by the governor.

<u>New law</u> removes the member that is selected from a list of three names submitted by the La. Maritime Association and the member that is selected from a list of three names submitted by the La. River Pilots' Association, and adds that one member shall be selected from a list of two nominees, with one nominee being submitted by both the La. River Pilots' Association and the La. Maritime Association.

<u>Prior law</u> specified that the commissioners appointed are appointed for terms of six years and that no commissioner can serve more than two consecutive terms.

<u>Prior law</u> required the board of commissioners to seek the approval of the House and Senate committees on transportation, highways, and public works and the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget prior to the adoption of any rule or regulation for the maintenance and operation of the authority.

New law removes prior law.

<u>Prior law</u> required the board of commissioners to elect a president, two vice-presidents, a secretary, and a treasurer from among the members of the board.

<u>New law</u> reduces the number of vice-presidents to be elected from two to one.

<u>Prior law</u> specified that all matters to be acted upon by the board of commissioners or the executive board require the affirmative vote of a majority of the board, with the exception that the affirmative vote of not less than ten commissioners is required to select the executive director.

<u>New law</u> changes <u>prior law</u> by requiring the affirmative vote of a majority of the board and reduces the number of affirmative votes of commissioners to select the executive director from 10 to 6.

<u>Prior law</u> required the board to make an annual report to the governor, the House and Senate committees on transportation, highways, and public works, and the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget.

<u>New law</u> removes the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget from the entities to which the board must make an annual report. <u>New law</u> further provides that the annual report shall be submitted not later than February 1st of each year and that the report shall include a summary of the authority's progress, future plans for the authority's development program and financial report.

Provides that terms of the current members of the board shall not be altered by new law.

Effective upon signature of the governor (November 5, 2020).

(Amends R.S. 34:3494(A) and (B), 3495(A),(C), and (G), and 3496(A))