SLS 21RS-132 **ORIGINAL**

2021 Regular Session

SENATE BILL NO. 57

1

BY SENATOR WOMACK

Prefiled pursuant to Article III, Section 2(A)(4)(b)(i) of the Constitution of Louisiana.

CLERKS OF COURT. Provides for the functions of the jury commission in Franklin Parish. (8/1/21)

AN ACT

2	To amend and reenact Code of Criminal Procedure Art. 404(H), relative to jury
3	commissions; to provide that the clerk of court for Franklin Parish or the clerk's
4	designated deputy clerk shall serve as the jury commission; and to provide for related
5	matters.
6	Be it enacted by the Legislature of Louisiana:
7	Section 1. Code of Criminal Procedure Art. 404(H) is hereby amended and reenacted
8	to read as follows:
9	Art. 404. Appointment of jury commissions; term of office; oath; quorum;
10	performance of functions of jury commissions in certain parishes
11	* * *
12	H. In the parishes of Caldwell, Claiborne, Franklin, DeSoto, Union, and
13	Webster, the function of the jury commission shall be performed by the clerks of
14	court of Caldwell Parish, Claiborne Parish, DeSoto Parish, Franklin Parish, Union
15	Parish, and Webster Parish or by a deputy clerk of court designated by the respective
16	clerk in writing to act in his stead in all matters affecting the jury commission. The
17	clerk of court or his designated deputy shall have the same powers, duties, and

SLS 21RS-132 ORIGINAL
SB NO. 57

responsibilities, and shall be governed by all applicable provisions of law pertaining to jury commissioners. The clerks of court of Caldwell Parish, Claiborne Parish, DeSoto Parish, Franklin Parish, Union Parish, and Webster Parish shall perform the duties and responsibilities otherwise imposed upon him by law with respect to jury venires, shall coordinate the jury venire process, and shall receive the compensation generally authorized for a jury commissioner.

* * *

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Jerry J. Guillot.

DIGEST 2021 Regular Session

Womack

SB 57 Original

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

<u>Present law</u>, relative to jury commissions, provides that except as otherwise provided, the parish jury commission shall consist of the clerk of court or a deputy clerk designated by him in writing to act in his stead in all matters affecting the jury commission, and four other members appointed by written order of the district court, who serve at the court's pleasure. Three members of the jury commission shall constitute a quorum and jury commission meetings shall be open to the public.

<u>Present law</u> provides that in Caldwell, Claiborne, DeSoto, Union, and Webster parishes the function of the jury commission shall be performed by the respective clerk of court or by a deputy clerk of court designated by the clerk in writing to act in his stead in all matters affecting the jury commission. The clerk of court or his designated deputy shall have the same powers, duties, and responsibilities, be governed by all applicable law pertaining to jury commissioners, perform the required duties and responsibilities with respect to jury venires, coordinate the jury venire process, and receive the compensation generally authorized for a jury commissioner.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that in Franklin Parish the function of the jury commission shall be performed by the clerk of court or by a deputy clerk of court designated by the clerk in writing to act in his stead in all matters affecting the jury commission. The clerk of court or his designated deputy shall have the same powers, duties, and responsibilities, be governed by all applicable law pertaining to jury commissioners, perform the required duties and responsibilities with respect to jury venires, coordinate the jury venire process, and receive the compensation generally authorized for a jury commissioner. Otherwise, retains <u>present</u> law.

Effective August 1, 2021.

(Amends C.Cr.P. Art. 404(H))