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Provides for the disposition of abandoned property deposited at the state archives. (gov sig)

Proposed law provides that property held in the possession of the Louisiana State Archives that no one has asserted a claim
of ownership for more than ten years will be deemed abandoned. Proposed law requires that the State Archivist publish
notice and listing of the abandoned property in a newspaper of general circulation in the parish of the last known address of
the property's owner or depositor or the official journal of the state if no record of the owner's or depositor's address is
unknown. Proposed law requires the notice to be posted at least once a week for two consecutive weeks. After 65 days
from publication of the second notice and provided no claim to the property is established to the satisfaction of the state
archivist, proposed law provides that the abandoned property become the property of the Louisiana State Archives.

EXPENDITURES 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 2024-25 2025-26 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW

Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total

REVENUES 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 2024-25 2025-26 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental expenditures as a result of this measure. Proposed law
provides property left in the State Archives for more than 10 years deemed abandoned. Under the proposed law, the State
Archivist shall publish notice at least once a week for two consecutive weeks regarding the abandoned property in the
newspaper of the parish of the last known address of the owner or the official journal of the state if the owner’s address is
unknown. If no claim is made within 65 days after the second notice, the abandoned property becomes the property of the
State Archives. The Secretary of State reports that the cost of publishing notices is anticipated to be a minimum and
infrequent cost that can be accomplished utilizing existing resources and budget authority.

REVENUE EXPLANATION
There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental revenues as a result of this measure.
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