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Present law provides criminal penalties (a fine up to $300 and imprisonment for not more than 15 days, or both) for the first
conviction for the possession of marijuana when the offender possesses 14 grams or less. Proposed house floor amendments
provide that on a first or subsequent conviction for the possession of marijuana, 14 grams or less, an offender shall not be
fined more than $100. Proposed amendments also provide language to clarify that R.S. 40:966 (d), (e)(i), and (f)(i) apply
only when an offender possesses more than 14 grams of marijuana. Proposed law provides that if an offender alleges
indigency, the court shall use its discretion to find alternatives to full payment, including installment payments or community
service.  Proposed law provides for enforcement by use of summons in lieu of custodial arrest.

There will be a decrease in SGF expenditures to the Department of Public Safety & Corrections - Corrections Services
(DPS&C) as a result of the proposed measure. Under present law, offenders convicted of the possession of marijuana on a
third or subsequent conviction are convicted of a felony and would be remanded to the custody of DPS&C. Under proposed
law, the possession of marijuana, 14 grams or less, is a misdemeanor for which the penalty is a fine with no jail time.
Therefore, DPS&C will experience a decrease to the extent persons are convicted on the third or subsequent offenses. A
reduction in convictions could save DPS&C $26.39 per day per offender and $9,632 annually ($26.39 per day per offender x
365 days) for those in adult local housing; and $67.36 per day per offender and $24,586 annually ($67.36 per day per
offender x 365 days) for those in a state facility.

Proposed house floor amendments provide for all convictions for the possession of marijuana, 14 grams or less, to be fined
not more than $100. Under the proposed amendments, local law enforcement agencies will realize an indeterminable
decrease in expenditures associated with the removal of jail time as a penalty.

There will be an indeterminable decrease in self-generated revenue to the District Attorney’s, the Louisiana Public Defender
Board, Clerk of Courts, Sheriff’s Departments, and other local governmental entities as a result of the reduction of the fine
from $300 to $100.

For illustrative purposes, the Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement (LCLE) reports there were 18,943 arrests for the
possession of marijuana under R.S. 40:966 in 2019. LCLE was unable to distinguish those arrests where the amount in
possession was 14 grams or less.
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