2021 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 81

BY REPRESENTATIVE EDMONDS

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To direct the legislative auditor to audit the Department of State's policies, procedures, and practices regarding the integrity of elections in Louisiana, including but not limited to a comparison of policies, procedures, and best practices used by other states.

WHEREAS, R.S. 24:522(K) requires the legislative auditor to conduct a performance audit of each of the twenty departments of the executive branch of state government at least every seven years; and

WHEREAS, the legislative auditor is scheduled to conduct a performance audit of the Department of State in the 2021-2022 fiscal year; and

WHEREAS, most states require some type of post-election audit to review the accuracy of the election results and the election process and these types of post-election audits include traditional post-election audits, risk-limiting audits, and procedural audits; and

WHEREAS, the citizens of the state of Louisiana require assurance that the entire election process administered and conducted by the Department of State and our election officials, including the secretary of state, clerks of court, registrars of voters, and other election officials across the state, is sufficient to provide for the integrity and security of all elections held within the state.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby direct the legislative auditor to audit the Department of State's policies, procedures, and practices and those of elections officials in this state regarding the integrity of elections in Louisiana, including but not limited to a comparison of policies, procedures, and best practices used by other states, during the conduct of the performance audit of the Department of State in the 2021-2022 fiscal year.

HCR NO. 81 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the
state legislative auditor and the secretary of state.
SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE