2021 Regular Session

Hewitt

<u>Prior law</u> provided that commissioners appointed to the board, except those named by the Slidell Memorial Hospital medical staff, will be chosen by the appointing authority as provided for in <u>prior law</u>, from nominations received from the nominating committee composed of nine members. Members of the permanent nominating committee will be appointed from entities outlined in <u>prior law</u> and will submit a copy of their appointments to the state senator in whose district Slidell Memorial Hospital resides. The state senator will be responsible for ensuring the proper appointment of all members of the nominating committee.

New law retains prior law.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that the state senator will be responsible for ensuring the proper appointment of all members of the nominating committee, calling and providing proper notice of all meetings of the nominating committee, and maintaining all appropriate documentation of the nominating committee. The nominating committee shall select annually a chairperson to conduct meetings of the committee.

New law makes a technical change in terminology <u>from</u> the "nominating committee" <u>to</u> the "appointing authority".

<u>New law</u> provides that the state senator will serve as the chairperson of the appointing authority.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that the appointing authority shall be composed of seven members as follows:

- (1) One appointee of the Slidell city council who resides within the city limits of Slidell.
- (2) One appointee of the mayor of Slidell who resides within the city limits of Slidell.
- (3) One appointee of the St. Tammany Parish council who resides within the geographical boundaries of the district.
- (4) One appointee of the St. Tammany Parish president who resides within the geographical boundaries of the district.
- One appointee of the governing authority of the town of Pearl River who resides within the corporate limits of Pearl River.
- (6) Two appointees of the state senator and the state representative in whose district Slidell Memorial Hospital resides.

<u>New law</u> retains <u>prior law</u> but provides that the senator and representative, or their designee, will be a member of the appointment authority.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that no member of the board, whether appointed by recommendation of the nominating committee or the medical staff, will serve more than three consecutive terms.

<u>New law</u> retains <u>prior law</u> but provides that one term will consist of four years, unless:

- (1) An appointee is named to fill the term of a member who has left the board and less than two years remain in the term, that appointee's term will not be considered one of the three consecutive terms to which a member is limited; or
- (2) An appointee is named to fill the term of a member who has left the board and more than two years remain in the term, that appointee's term will be considered one of the three consecutive terms to which a member is limited.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that board shall have the power to annually appoint a former member of the board to serve as a nonvoting "Commissioner Emeritus" to advise and provide historical

perspective to the board when requested by the chairman. Such person shall be paid a per diem equal to that paid to other board members for attendance at the meeting together with reasonable expenses to attend any event attended by the board of commissioners. The "Commissioner Emeritus" may not serve longer than one year.

New law retains prior law but makes the appointment of "Commissioner Emeritus" optional.

<u>Prior law</u> provided hat special meetings may be called with 48-hour notice by the chairperson, or in his absence, by the vice chairperson, or upon the written authorization of a majority of the members of the board.

New law retains prior law but makes technical change.

Effective August 1, 2021.

(Amends R.S. 46:1098.5(B)(6) and (C), 1098.6(B)(1)(a), and 1098.7(21) and (23))