## **DIGEST**

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 689 Original

2022 Regular Session

Schamerhorn

**Abstract:** Creates the retail seafood dealer's license.

<u>Proposed law</u> creates retail seafood dealer's license an requires any person buying, acquiring, or handling by any means whatsoever, from a La. wholesale/retail seafood dealer, any species of fish whether fresh, frozen, processed, or unprocessed, that sells to the consumer for personal or household use and any person who ships fish out of or within the state of La. to the consumer for personal or household use to purchase a retail seafood dealer's license.

<u>Proposed law</u> establishes the fee for the retail seafood dealer's license at \$105 for residents and \$405 dollars for nonresidents.

<u>Present law</u> provides that a wholesale/retail seafood dealer's license is valid for one year, beginning on Jan. 1st of each calendar year and expiring on Dec. 31st of the same calendar year. Further provides the license may be purchased at any time of the year for the current license year and from Nov. 15th for the immediately following license year. Further authorizes the department to sell a license for a four-year period at four times the cost of the annual license fee. <u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> and adds retail seafood dealer's license.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides for requirements of the license. Further allows individual licensee to operate as a retail seafood dealer at any point within the state when that person is in possession of the original license and restricts validity of the license to the individual for whom it was issued.

<u>Proposed law</u> applicable to businesses, provides that when a license is issued to a corporation, partnership, or any other type of association, is only valid for one place of business and only valid to transact business for and in the name of the licensee. Requires additional licenses for multiple places of business.

<u>Proposed law</u> exempts persons transporting fish under the privilege of a Louisiana transport license purchased in connection with a Louisiana retail seafood dealer's license when that person buys fish for or on behalf of the retail seafood dealer and only transports such fish to that retail dealer. Further exempts restaurants and retail grocers who only purchase fish, whether fresh, frozen, processed, or unprocessed, from a licensed wholesale/retail seafood dealer and only sell such fish fully prepared for immediate consumption by the consumer.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires a retail out-of-state crab shipping license in addition to a retail dealer's license for any retail seafood dealer who exports or attempts to export outside of the state of Louisiana any

crabs, softshell crabs, boiled crabs, containerized crabmeat, or containerized pasteurized crabmeat.

<u>Proposed law</u> establishes the fee for a retail out-of-state crab shipping license at \$100 per year. Provides that the license is valid for one year from Jan. 1st to Dec. 31st of the same year.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that the retail out-of-state crab shipping license may be purchased at any time of the year for the current license year and from Nov. 15th for the immediately following license year.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides disposition of the revenues collected from the retail out-of-state crab shipping license as follows:

- (1) 10% deposited to the Conservation fund.
- (2) 90% deposited to the Crab Development, Management, and Derelict Crab Trap Removal Account.

<u>Present law</u> requires restaurants and retail grocers to buy directly from only wholesale/retail seafood dealers licensed in La. <u>Proposed law</u> adds retail seafood dealers.

<u>Present law</u> requires that restaurants and retail grocers be licensed under <u>present law</u> and possess a valid transport license when buying fish from an out-of-state seller and bringing the fish into the state. Proposed law adds retail seafood dealers.

<u>Present law</u> requires wholesale/retail seafood dealers, restaurants, and retail grocers to keep certain records. Proposed law adds retail seafood dealers.

(Amends R.S. 56:306.2(B), 306.3, 306.4(Section heading) and (C)(1), and 306.5(A); Adds R.S. 56:306.1 and 306.2(A)(2))