
The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the
legislative instrument, were prepared by Xavier I. Alexander.

DIGEST
SB 367 Original 2022 Regular Session Henry

Proposed law creates a Licensed Residential Appraiser (LRA) license classification and formalizes
adoption of Practical Application of Real Estate Appraisal (PAREA) program criteria for Louisiana.

Present law provides for a real estate appraiser trainee to be licensed.

Proposed law provides for a trainee appraiser to be registered instead of licensed and specifically
allows a trainee to have more than one supervisory appraiser. Proposed law provides for
qualifications and training.

Proposed law defines a "licensed residential appraiser" as any person licensed by the board whose
authority to appraise real property is limited to the appraisal of noncomplex one to four complex
residential units having a transaction value of less than $1M and one to four residential units having
a transaction value of less than $400K, according to The Real Property Appraiser Qualification
Criteria.

Proposed law provides that nothing in present law and proposed law shall be construed to prohibit
an applicant from submitting an official PAREA program completion certificate to evidence
satisfactory completion of all education and experience necessary for licensure as either a licensed
residential appraiser or as a certified residential appraiser, according to the qualifications required
by The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria. Present law provides that an applicant, who
has fully completed an authorized PAREA program, can apply for licensure either as a licensed
residential appraiser or as a certified residential appraiser on a form prescribed by the board and
obtain board approval of the application prior to conducting appraisal activity in this state.

Present law provides standards for licensure and penalties for persons engaged in real estate appraisal
activity without a license. Provides for the Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board's authority over
licensees, receipt of applications and renewals for licensing, examination, continuing education
requirements, disciplinary proceedings, standards for communication, and recordkeeping.

Proposed law retains present law, but makes it also applicable to registrations.

Present law provides that as a prerequisite to license renewal, all certified residential and certified
general appraisers shall complete the equivalent of 14 hours of continuing education instruction per
calendar year.

Proposed law repeals present law.

Effective upon signature of the governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.



(Amends R.S. 37:3392(intro para), (8), (12) - (14), 3393(A) - (E), (G), (I)(intro para), (J) - (L),
3394(B)(1)(b), (c), and (B)(2), 3395(A)(1), (2), (4), (C) and (D), 3396(A), 3397, 3398(A), 3405,
3408(A), (B), (D)(intro para) and (F), 3409(A)(intro para), (A)(6), (B)(2) and (3), (C)(2), (D),
(E)(intro para), and (F), 3410 and 3411; adds R.S. 37:3392(15) - (26) and 3399; repeals R.S.
37:3392(11) and 3397.1))


