SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 46

BY SENATOR MIZELL

A RESOLUTION

To highly commend the Louisiana State University women's basketball team and coaching staff on a stellar season reaching the 2021-2022 NCAA Women's basketball tournament, for an outstanding season, and to commend Coach Kim Mulkey on being named Coach of the Year by the Associated Press.

WHEREAS, Coach Kim Mulkey was born on May 17, 1962; and

WHEREAS, although she only stands five feet four inches tall in stature, Kim Mulkey towers on the basketball court; and

WHEREAS, after first playing basketball at Nesom Junior High School in Tickfaw, Louisiana, as a Tornado, Kim Mulkey led her Hammond High School basketball team to four consecutive state championships; and

WHEREAS, Kim Mulkey continued to demonstrate her skills as a mobile vortex at the collegiate level, being named All-American point guard at Louisiana Tech University, winning two national championships as a player, the AIAW title in 1981, and the inaugural NCAA title in 1982; and

WHEREAS, proving true the old adage that "big things come in small packages" and showcasing that her height does not hamper her skills, in 1984 Kim Mulkey was the inaugural winner of the women's version of the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award which is given to the nation's top college senior under five feet six inches; and

WHEREAS, under the skills and guidance of Coach Kim Mulkey, the LSU women's basketball program has helped revive a renewed spirit of hope and excitement, and instill a sense of great pride in the citizens of the state; and

WHEREAS, Coach Kim Mulkey and the LSU Tigers earned a spot in the NCAA tournament in her first year as head coach; and

WHEREAS, LSU earned a Top-16 seed and hosted the first two rounds of the season; and

WHEREAS, the 2021-2022 season has been the biggest turnaround for a coach in the first year in the SEC; and

WHEREAS, Coach Kim Mulkey has made the tournament in every season since becoming a head coach at Baylor and won three NCAA basketball tournaments; and

WHEREAS, LSU finished the season with twenty-five wins and second place in the SEC after winning only nine games last season; and

WHEREAS, LSU was ranked as high as No. 6 in the Associated Press Top 25 poll, and has been ranked for fourteen consecutive weeks; and

WHEREAS, reaching the NCAA basketball tournament clearly demonstrates that the 2021-2022 season has been outstanding for the Lady Tigers, hearkening back to when the Lady Tigers made the tournament for twelve consecutive seasons from 1999-2010; and

WHEREAS, the 2021-2022 season proved to be one for the record books for the Lady Tigers, with Kim Mulkey guiding the Tigers to a 26-6 record that included a No. 3 seed in the NCAA tournament and LSU's first tournament victory since 2014; and

WHEREAS, LSU was the No. 3 seed in the Spokane Region and lost to the No. 6 seed Ohio State in the second round of the tournament; and

WHEREAS, it does not go unnoticed that Coach Kim Mulkey helped the LSU women's basketball program return to the limelight in her first season; and

WHEREAS, the individual efforts and performances, and the courage and heart displayed by this dynamic, talented Tiger team throughout the regular season and in tournament play, are certainly a tribute to the hard work and dedication of these players; and

WHEREAS, the talents and determination of every player have culminated in a successful, historic season for the Lady Tigers and have provided Tiger fans and citizens of Louisiana with exciting basketball while maintaining the highest level of sportsmanship and displaying great character on the court; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Tigers have brought great pride to the university, their coaches, their families, and to the state of Louisiana for the manner in which they have represented the university both as tremendous athletes and as individuals; and

WHEREAS, in a game where heroes are made not only by larger-than-life performances on the court but also in the true character exhibited by a player both in victory

SR NO. 46

and in defeat, the members of this 2021-2022 Lady Tigers team will serve as positive role models to young athletes throughout the state for years to come; and

WHEREAS, the following players epitomize all that is good in today's college student athlete and are recognized for displaying the highest degree of character both on and off the court: Khayla Pointer, Jailin Cherry, Faustine Aifuwa, Awa Trasi, Autumn Newby, Ryann Payne, Emily Ward, Grace Hall, Alexis Morris, Timia Ware, Logyn McNeil, Ajae Petty, Sarah Shematsi, Hannah Gusters, and Amani Bartlett; and

WHEREAS, the exemplary accomplishments of this unforgettable season could not have been achieved without the guidance of Head Coach Kim Mulkey and her assistants, including Sytia Messer, Daphne Mitchell, Kaylin Rice, Johnny Derrick, Jennifer Roberts, Jordin Westbrook, Chante' Crutchfield, Joe Schwartz, and Renee Braud; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Kim Mulkey and all of the Lady Tigers have provided many exciting and memorable moments throughout the 2021-2022 season and in the NCAA tournament, and merit a sincere measure of commendation for their remarkable feats and for the pride and honor they have brought to the state of Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Louisiana State University women's basketball team and coaching staff for their outstanding achievements during the 2021-2022 season, for an outstanding season, and for their strong performance during the NCAA women's basketball tournament.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana wishes to offer special recognition to Head Coach Kim Mulkey for being named the Associated Press Coach of the Year.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution shall be transmitted to Head Coach Kim Mulkey and Athletic Director Scott Woodward.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE