2022 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 61

BY REPRESENTATIVE THOMPSON AND SENATORS BERNARD, CARTER, CATHEY, CLOUD, CORTEZ, FIELDS, HARRIS, HEWITT, JACKSON, MCMATH, MILLIGAN, FRED MILLS, POPE, REESE, SMITH, WARD, AND WOMACK

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the members of the Delhi Charter School robotics program on winning top awards at the Louisiana VEX Robotics State Championship and qualifying to compete at the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship.

WHEREAS, the Delhi Charter School's high school robotics teams collectively earned twenty awards in six regional competitions over the course of the 2021-2022 season and six more awards at the Louisiana VEX Robotics State Championship; and

WHEREAS, the members of team 8892A are Slayter Blake, Payton Greer, Bennett Johnston, and Emma McManus; their team won two Skills awards, a Design award, and a Tournament Champion award during the regular season and the Tournament Champion award at the state competition; and

WHEREAS, the members of team 8892B are Rylee Graham, Harley Jinks, Avindi Thomas, Jennifer Wright, and Lisa Wright; their team won two Design awards and two Excellence awards during the regular season and the Excellence award at the state competition; this feat is made more impressive by the fact that the Excellence award is considered the highest honor received at the Louisiana VEX Robotics State Championship; and

WHEREAS, the members of team 8892V are Ashton Harrell, Kyle Peters, and Quentin Spruill; their team won a Judges award, two Design awards, an Excellence award, and four Tournament Champion awards during the regular season and the Design award and Tournament Finalist award at the state competition; and

HCR NO. 61 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the members of team 8892X are Cameron Fuller, Ty Jones, Kaden Sauseda, and Remi Sauseda; their team won four Tournament Champion awards during the regular season and the Judges award and Tournament Champion award at the state competition; and

WHEREAS, the Delhi Charter School elementary and junior high robotics teams earned four awards in multiple regional competitions over the 2021-2022 season and one award at the Louisiana VEX Robotics State Championship; and

WHEREAS, the members of team 88892A are Sophie Bartlett, Junior Cleveland, Joshua Hatten, and Greer Robinson; their team won a Judges award during the regular season; and

WHEREAS, the members of team 88892B are Logan Adcock, Lucas Jinks, and Evan Jones; their team won two Design awards during the regular season and the Design award at the state competition; and

WHEREAS, the members of team 8892F are Nate Batoon, Fisher Entrekin, Ayden Hicks, and Crestin Knight; their team won one Middle School Excellence award during the regular season; and

WHEREAS, through the robotics program these students learn vital scientific, engineering, and real-world collaborative skills by working together to create a functioning and effective robot; they also learn how to communicate with one another in a constructive and productive manner; and

WHEREAS, the seven robotics teams from Delhi Charter School would not have been given the opportunity employ their incredible talents without the dedicated support, guidance, and skill of Eric Vidrine, the team's sponsor, and all others who are involved with the school's robotics program; they are most deserving of recognition.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the members of the Delhi Charter School robotics program on winning top awards at the Louisiana VEX Robotics State Championship and qualifying to compete at the 2022 VEX Robotics World Championship; does hereby extend best wishes to the members and everyone involved with this fine program as they celebrate their memorable and historic accomplishments; and does hereby congratulate them on representing the state of Louisiana in the upcoming world championship competition.

HCR NO. 61 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the sponsor of the Delhi Charter School robotics program and the headmaster of Delhi Charter School.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE