SLS 22RS-798

ORIGINAL

2022 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 82

BY SENATOR MCMATH

COMMENDATIONS. Commends Archbishop Hannan High School for winning the LHSAA Boys Basketball Division II State Championship.

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend the Archbishop Hannan High School boys basketball team upon winning the
3	Louisiana High School Athletic Association's (LHSAA) Boys Basketball Division
4	II State Championship on Saturday, March 5, 2022.
5	WHEREAS, on Saturday, March 5, 2022, the Hannan's boys basketball team played
6	Liberty Magnet High School at the Cajundome in Lafayette; and
7	WHEREAS, it was the Hannan Hawks boys basketball team first appearance in a
8	state final and they were considered underdogs; and
9	WHEREAS, the Hawks shot 81 percent (27-33) for the game and finished 5/7 from
10	the three point line; and
11	WHEREAS, freshman Drew Timmons was named Most Outstanding Player with 31
12	points, 7 rebounds, and 3 assists; and
13	WHEREAS, Semajai McClendan and Luke Timmons scored a pair of layups before
14	Kareem Johnson made a three-point shot giving Hannan an early 18-2 lead; and
15	WHEREAS, the Hannan Hawks defeated top-seeded Liberty 81-60; and
16	WHEREAS, Archbishop Hannan High School boys basketball team brings home the
17	Hannan Hawks first state basketball championship with this historic win.
18	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana

does hereby commend the Archbishop Hannan High School boys basketball team of 1 Covington, Louisiana, upon winning their first basketball state championship. 2 3 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby 4 commend the Hannan Hawks Grant Kemp, Preston Richardson, Luke Timmons, Semajai McClendan, Grant Sweeney, Drew Timmons, Anderson Schof, Zack Lauro, Ryan 5 6 McDougal, Hayden Alonzo, Kareem Johnson, David Chimento Jr., Jordan Froeba as well 7 as Ethan Barre, Henry Boudreaux, Bryce Daniels, Cooper Duhon, Jacob Hollingsworth, 8 Brenton Gordon, Trey Knight, Noah Morreale, Brennan Obey, Sean Parker, Nickolas Penn, 9 Aiden Roy, and Anthony Thomson. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby 10 11 commend Head Coach Errol Gauff, Assistant Coach Dale Chimento, Assistant Coach David 12 Chimento, Athletic Director Michael Perniciaro, Head of School Chad Barwick, Associate 13 Head of School Nancy Baird, Dean of Students Joseph Hines, Patrick Kennedy, Xavier 14 Brown, and Braden Schultz. 15 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to 16 Coach Errol Gauff of Archbishop Hannan High School.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Archana Cadge.

	DIGEST	
SR 82 Original	2022 Regular Session	McMath

Commends the Archbishop Hannan High School boys basketball team of Covington, Louisiana, on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association's (LHSAA) Boys Basketball Division II State Championship.